The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Colhoun, Miss
Record 2 of 2

System Number: 00513
Date: [May 1881][1]
Author: Janey Sevilla Campbell[2]
Place: Charlbury
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler C14
Document Type: ALS



Dear Mr Whistler

A thousand thanks for the trellis designs[3]. They were forwarded here. I fully intended going to see yr [p. 2] little cousin[4] make her debût but not on Sat. for I do not return till Monday. I think I shall go Tues. to see her, & will [p. 3] let you know. It wd be so nice if you cld come here for these few days[.] Mrs Sartoris[5] is telegraphing to you about it - little [p. 4] Walter[6] is coming tomorrow for a day or two.

A.[7] is writing to me about 6 furious missives a day consequent on the revelations made to him by the exasperated [p. 5] decorators of Coombe Farm[8]. The last thing he has on his mind is the Antwerp blue wh I said must be used for the outside trellis. On every page he alludes [p. 6] to "Jimmies needless trellis". So until this is set right i.e (put up on the wall I hope) don't go to see him - or you will have to buy the 100 sets [p. 7] of armour!

I have quite come to the conclusion that the fairy effect would be more complete wth the peacock colors as you first suggested: Mrs Sartoris is most [p. 8] anxious you shd come. I fear you will be already in full swing wth yr etchings[9].

Yrs very truly

Janey Campbell

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [May 1881]
Dated from reference to Miss Colhoun (see also JW to J. S. Campbell, #09043).

2.  Janey Sevilla Campbell
Janey Sevilla Campbell (ca 1846 - d.1923), née Callander, Lady Archibald Campbell [more].

3.  trellis designs
See r. and v.: Trellis (M.848).

4.  cousin
Miss Colhoun, unidentified. See JW to J. S. Campbell, #09043.

5.  Mrs Sartoris
Perhaps Mary H. Sartoris (b. ca 1846), collector, wife of C. U. Sartoris, landed proprietor [more] (see Dowdeswell & Dowdeswell, #00866, #00867).

6.  Walter

7.  A.
Lord Archibald Campbell (1846-1913), second son of the 8th Duke of Argyll, army officer, writer and businessman [more], married Janey Sevilla Campbell in 1869.

8.  Coombe Farm
Coombe Hill Farm, the Campbells' home at Norbiton, Kingston-on-Thames.

9.  etchings
A reference to Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5). According to the diarist George Lucas, JW had also recently been in Paris to deliver some Venice etchings. See entry dated 14 April: 'Visit from Whistler bringing his Venice Eaux Fortes' (Randall, Lillian, ed., George A. Lucas: An American Art Agent in Paris, 1857-1909, Princeton, 1979, p. 518).