UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Carrington, Eva
Record 1 of 6

System Number: 04780
Date: [30 October 1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P420
Document Type: ALS[3]


[monogram:] WH[4]

5, NORFOLK STREET,
PARK LANE. W.

Well Major!

have you had a grand Britan[n]ia day[5]? and seen the town drunk ... "with enthusiasm"? -

I hope in any case that you had a good place - and were not standing in in [sic] rainy parks or on wet pavements with pushing patriots at the risk of your health! - Here am I with a pretty fair cold though I have seen none of it! -

I am "all right" though [p. 2] as you say - no coughing or any thing of the kind -

Only I thought it better to stay in with Am[m]oniated Quinine - and I have been in bed most all day -

Tomorrow morning you had better go up to the studio - if you are not tired - and see what it is all like - and if I have quite rid my self of the cold I hope to appear at about half past ten -

Otherwise of course you will have a wire from me there -

I suppose I shall have a line from you in the morning -

I shall write a line to Mrs Burkitt[6] that they may have a fire any how - and I will tell them to keep Eva[7] that you may have her by you for a moment so as to keep every thing up -

Many nice things to you all

the General

I have not seen the Figaro today -

Get it on your way, that we miss none - though I have heard nothing -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Miss Rosalind Birnie-Philip -
Dhu House
36. Tite Street
Chelsea
SW.
[stamp:] POSTAGE AND INLAND REVENUE / ONE PENNY
[postmark:] LONDON / 40 / 12.15 AM / OC 30 / 00
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S. W. / 5.15.AM / OC 30 / 00 / 10

[monogram on verso flap:] WH



Notes:

1.  [30 October 1900]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
Written in pencil.

4.  WH
The notepaper and monogram of William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more]. The embossed letterhead is printed in yellow.

5.  Britan[n]ia day
This may be connected with the fact that on 25 October 1900 Britain had annexed the Transvaal as part of the continuing struggle in the Boer War (1899-1902). Also, on 16 October a General Election had been held, which Robert Arthur Talbot Gascoyne-Cecil (1830-1903), 3rd Marquess of Salisbury, MP and Conservative party leader [more], had won.

6.  Mrs Burkitt
Mrs Burkett, JW's landlady at 8 Fitzroy Square [more]; see JW's letter to her, #11207.

7.  Eva
Probably Eva Carrington, JW's model between 1898 and 1902 [more].