The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Morgan, Mrs
Record 5 of 5

System Number: 04733
Date: [13 July 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P373
Document Type: ALS



Very good indeed Major! - Jersey is I believe a gentle let down towards "the Island" itself - and perhaps I will go and call upon you there! -

Meanwhile I have just come back from Webbs[3] yacht! - and if it had not been for your supernatural wisdom in sending me my heavy fur coat and [p. 2] my own joyous ribaldry in taking it with me, I dont know what I should have done!! -

A roaring North East wind! all the while - Miserable I was! -

I have returned in haste with a pain in my back! -

I must get out of this - and shall probably go right down South -

But dont you trouble about that - manage all the rest as you say - and really it all seems to arrange itself for the best - even poor Therèse's[4] temporary withdrawal to her mother's! -

[p. 3] Now I enclose Thils[5] letter - You will see that he has done his best - and of the other tenants, one has promised not to shake any more! and the other remains abdurate in a way - but agrees not to shake after 10. o'clock in the morning - and to give warning by a whistle - which is what, Thil says, Mrs. Morgan's[6] servants did!? - This I suppose would be the Saleron[7]!

I have written Thil, asking for a few days further armistice as the Spaniards do, so that I may think it out before giving my definite answer! - It seems to me though that it might be an awful nuisance to have the Saleron whistling out of her window every morning!! I have begged Thil to telegram if it be she who whistles! -

Now Major you needn't trouble about the long envelope - but send me the papers I brought home from Beurdeleys[8] [p. 4] one evening - they contain letters and newspapers about the trial. That is all I want - Can't you find my interview in the "Journal"? Dont send the papers whole but cut out the part belonging to the court - Also send the green curtain, that I brought came back to me through the Goupils[9] with my little pictures - It is in the studio folded up - on one of the sofas - probably behind the screen with Vanderbilts[10] things - It might be wrapped up with the black velvet and both sent, as Marie[11] lent the velvet to me -

I am so tired! must go to bed!
nicest messages to you all!

the General -

This document is protected by copyright.


'JULY 12th 1898'

Madmoiselle Birnie Philip
aux soins de
Monsieur McNeill Whistler
110. Rue du Bac -
Paris -
France -
[stamp x 2:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / 2½d
[postmark:] LONDON SW / 2.15 AM / JY 12 / 98


1.  [13 July 1898]
Dated from the postmark. The date was written on the envelope in another hand.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself the 'General'.

3.  Webbs
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

4.  Therèse's
Therèse, JW's servant at 110 rue du Bac.

5.  Thils
André Thil (fl. 1877-1901), JW's landlord at 110 rue du Bac, Paris [more]. His letter has not been located.

6.  Mrs. Morgan's
Mrs Morgan, neighbour of JW at 110 rue du Bac.

7.  Saleron
Mme Saleron, JW's neighbour at 110 rue du Bac [more]. She had been indulging in anti-social behaviour, beating her carpets into JW's garden.

8.  Beurdeleys
Paul Beurdeley (1842-after 1902), advocate at the Cour d'Appel, Paris [more].

9.  Goupils
Art dealers in London and Paris.

10.  Vanderbilts
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more]. He was sitting for Portrait of George W. Vanderbilt (YMSM 481).

11.  Marie
Marie, a Belgian servant hired by JW in London.