The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Morgan, Mrs
Record 3 of 5

System Number: 04708
Date: [5 July 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P348
Document Type: ALS[3]

Garlants Hotel[4] -

My dear Major -

It was very pretty of you to send the flowers - and I was very pleased with the thought of me in the garden -

The dress I am sure will be very elegant - and trimmed with black will be something for me to see when I get back to you all -

Now I want you to go with Bunnie[5] again at once to Ratiers[6] - and ask if they can to manage without fail to have the Eden[7] trial put off until after the "Vacances" - Say that [p. 2] I have important work to complete with people who wish to go away - and that I rely upon them to manage this - Say that I had Monsieur Oliviers[8], or rather Mons Ratiers letter all right - and telegraphed in reply - But I want to be assured of this putting off - If Mons Dumont[9], or his successor is to manage this, let them urge him to do this - and say that I will send the cheque he speaks of - but would like this to be settled for certain -

Mrs. Morgan[10] it appears has been in town, and is perhaps still here - I think I shall write to her about the carpets? - -

It would perhaps be a good thing to have the studio well cleaned - by the concièrge - and the shelves put in order -

The[11] kindest messages to you all
from the greatly hurried


This document is protected by copyright.


'JULY 5 1897'

Mademoiselle Birnie-Philip
aux soins de
Monsieur McNeill Whistler
110. Rue du Bac
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / 2½d
[postmark:] LONDON [W.?] / JY 5 / 97 / 62
[postmark on verso:] PARIS 9 / (DISTRIBUTION) / 1E 6 / JUIL / 97


1.  [5 July 1897]
Dated from the postmark. The date was also written in another hand on the envelope.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border.

4.  Garlants Hotel
JW frequently stayed at Garlants Hotel from 1896 on. His studio was at 8 Fitzroy Square.

5.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Ratiers
Antoine ('Antony') Ratier (b. 1851), lawyer and politician [more]. See JW's next letter to Ethel Whibley, [8 July 1897], #06316.

7.  Eden
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more].

8.  Monsieur Oliviers
Etienne Olivier, clerk to Antoine Ratier [more].

9.  Mons Dumont
Eugène Dumont, lawyer at the Court d'Appel [more].

10.  Mrs. Morgan
Mrs Morgan, neighbour of JW at 110 rue du Bac.

11.  The...
Continued in the left margin at right angles to the main text.