The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Constant, T. C. J.
Record 26 of 32

System Number: 04696
Date: [13 January 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P336
Document Type: ALS[3]

4. Whitehall Court[4] - London -

Wednesday -

My dear Major -

Black black black!

That is what is has been here ever since I have got into this excellent country - and now it is cold - bitterly cold -

And if you could have seen the degraded woman of the house this morning as she [p. 2] crawled out of bed at 11. o'clock you would have been proud of the land and its ladies -

[sketch[5] of Mrs Willis]

The studio was like a cellar - and this after Mrs Willis[6] had promised to light my fire for me early in the morning -

I am seeing servants - and fancy I may get something directly - though not Auguste[7] -

Your telegram just came - the letter I suppose tomorrow - Now my notion is - now that we have rubbed it into Constant[8] - to withdraw the prosecution - We dont want to destroy them - and worry ourselves to death with the intricacies of the law - So I think Wobbles[9] might intimate that from motives of clemency we wish to "desist" -

Of course we will see first - I might wire tomorrow -

I do hope you will have some good servant by this time - and Bunnie[10] too -

When does Bunnie think she can send me the velvet? -

You might as well Major, write [p. 3] to Whitehall Court always - and I shall get the letters the first thing in the morning - that is if you get them off fully in time - If late send to Fitzroy Street -

Have you written to Mme Delaugh[11]? -

I will write again directly -

The pleasantest things to you all -

Always affectly

the General.

You[12] might send a P. O. order to London for Constants 20 francs - and say that Monsieur wishes to know where is the key of the Coal cellar - and where has he put the towels, napkins etc - in short the linge de l'atelier[13]? -

This document is protected by copyright.


'JAN. 13th 1897'

Mademoiselle Birnie-Philip
aux soins de
Monsieur McNeill Whistler
110. Rue du Bac
[stamp:] POSTAGE AND REVENUE / 2½d
[postmark:] CALAIS A PARIS 1D / 14 / JANV / 97


1.  [13 January 1897]
'Wednesday' fell on the 13 January in 1897; the postmark is from the day after.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW calls her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border.

4.  4. Whitehall Court
The address of William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

5.  sketch
The drawing, Mrs Willis (M.1500), is in the top left corner of the sheet.

6.  Mrs. Willis
Mrs Willis, JW's housekeeper at 8 Fitzroy Street [more].

7.  Auguste
The servant of Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more]. JW had written to Studd to request use of Auguste following the dismissal of Constant.

8.  Constant
T. C. J. Constant, JW's servant and valet [more], newly dismissed. See the letter from Louise to R. B. Philip, 12 January 1897, #02634.

9.  Wobbles
Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more].

10.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

11.  Mme Delaugh
Mme Delaugh, Delange or Dalangle, a servant or employee of JW and his wife in Paris.

12.  You
The postscript is written diagonally across the bottom left corner, upside down to the main text.

13.  linge de l'atelier
Fr., the studio linen.