UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Constant, T. C. J.
Record 7 of 32

System Number: 04672
Date: [15 September 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: Calais
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P312
Document Type: ALS


'Sept. 15. 96.'

[belt design:] HOTEL MEURICE
CALAIS

Well my dear Major -

One letter of yours containing the enclosed has just come this evening - You say in your telegram that you have sent me two - so I suppose the second will turn up tomorrow morning - But I certainly hope there will be another still, in answer to the one I posted to you last night -

This new paper of Huberts[3] had better go, with the first, to Ratier[4] - and he had better make it quite clear that I am away from Paris and consequently no paper has been served upon me - Also of course, I could not be present at the court: -

Tell Bunnie[5] that a letter for her from Webb[6] was forwarded to me here - and as she told me last time I was to open any thing of the kind, I did so [p. 2] think[ing] it might be about the Diben bill[7] - However it [was] about nothing at all of the slightest consequence -

I shall send it on to her tomorrow -

It is just pouring tonight!!

I don't think I shall stay if this sort of thing is to go on! -

I am really too sleepy to write! By the way, I have an astonishing appetite here! and eat quite a breakfast!

I must say Goodnight Major - with kindest regards to both of you -

Always affectionately

J McN Whistler

Tuesday night,

When I want Constant[8] I will wire - and then he can bring my thick black trousers & waistcoat - the rough ones, that go with my frock coat which is in London -

Have you sent the 3 or 4 francs to Madame Michel[9]? I have had another letter from her! -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

à
Mademoiselle Birnie Philip -
aux soins de
Monsieur Whistler -
110. Rue du Bac -
Paris -
France -
[stamp:] POSTE / 35 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[postmark:] CALAIS / PAS DE CALAIS / 15 / SEPT / [96?]

[verso:] 'Sept 15. 1896.'

HOTEL MEURICE
CALAIS

[postmark:] PARIS / DISTRIBUTION / 16 / [SEP]T / [96?]


Notes:

1.  [15 September 1896]
The date was added in pencil by the recipient on the letter and envelope.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her the 'Major'.

3.  Huberts
Hubert, a lawyer in Paris.

4.  Ratier
Antoine ('Antony') Ratier (b. 1851), lawyer and politician [more].

5.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

7.  Diben bill
Possibly Henry Dibben, carver and gilder.

8.  When I want Constant
T. C. J. Constant, JW's servant and valet [more]. 'When I want ... London -' was written in the left margin, and 'Have you sent ... from her! -' in the right.

9.  Madame Michel
Mme Michel, possibly a Paris shopkeeper.