UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Document associated with: Galway, Miss
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 04188
Date: [December 1892?][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Morris[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler M458
Document Type: ALS


110. Rue du Bac - Paris -

My dear Morris -

I was delighted to get your note - (though as yet we have not seen Miss Galway[3]) - and we both[4] of us hope you will never think of passing through Paris without coming to see us.

Poor Galland[5] you know has gone! - Fine fellow wasn't he! - I was very fond of him - and I believe he had a real affection for me - We always spoke [p. 2] of you - I saw him only a week or two before his death - apparently in excellent health & spirits - His son[6] had just returned from America -

Well well! - What are you all doing over there in London? - It is certainly a great privelege [sic] to get away from you all - and I suppose I have really earned my Paris! - I mean that if I had come away before absolutely completing my long fight of many weary years over there, I should not feel that I had a right to the peace and recognition that awaited me here - But I stood up well to it all didn't I? - and made no disorderly or hurried retreat - but came away with drums beating & flags flying and all as it should be -

It is pleasant to look back upon now that it is all over, and know that I never yielded an inch - never asked for quarter - and never, I think I may honestly say, gave it! - And now I am writing this to tell you the unfeigned pleasure you give me when you say you often think of me - and to show you that, though the Channel is between us, I am warmly attached to the friend & never have forgotten the friendship of olden days - .

Always my dear Morris,
& with kindest regards from us both,

J. McN. Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [December 1892?]
Dated from death of Galland in November 1892.

2.  Morris
Morris, possibly a friend from JW's student days in Paris.

3.  Miss Galway
Miss Galway, a mutual acquaintance of Morris and JW.

4.  both
ie, Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

5.  Galland
Pierre-Victor Galland (1822-1892), painter and decorative artist [more]. Galland died on 30 November 1892.

6.  son
Jacques, son of Pierre-Victor Galland, art student at the Académie Carmen [more]. See JW's letter, #01637.