UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Cox, Cornelius
Record 2 of 2

System Number: 03378
Date: [8 January 1887?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 85
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS


Dear Tom -

I expect you and Mr. Cox[3] this afternoon at 5. o'clock - Tell him not to take anything out of the books[4] - but bring them just as they are - that we may have the satisfaction of choosing sketches[5] [p. 2] or destroying any letters we may agree upon together -

I have settled about the publishers - and will tell you all about it this afternoon -

[butterfly signature]

454. Fulham Road -

Sat. Jan 9 1887


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

'85[6]'
'9 June 1887'
'Cox'

Tom Way Junr -
21. Wellington Street
Strand -

[p. 2] Bring a copy of 'Paddon Papers[7]' if you have any -



Notes:

1.  [8 January 1887?]
Whistler's script is not entirely clear, but appears to read 'Sat. Jan 9 1887'. However, 9 January was a Sunday in 1887. '9 June 1887', written on the envelope, was actually a Thursday. Assuming JW knew the day of the week, a more accurate date might be 8 January 1887, which was a Saturday.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more]. There is a ms copy of this letter by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more] (GUL Whistler LB 5/5). The letter was published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 42, no. 17.

3.  Mr. Cox
Cornelius Cox (1835-1889), stockbroker and collector [more]

4.  books
According to Pennell, Cox bought two albums in an antique shop for £14 (Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Whistler Journal, Philadelphia, 1921, pp. 66-7). These albums contained drawings and letters collected originally by Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more]. They were shown by Cox to Way and returned to JW in exchange for some Venice etchings. Cox was, according to Pennell, Way's father-in-law (see Howell and Whistler leaving the show on fire (M.673)).

5.  sketches
There are some drawings still in the albums: Howell and Whistler leaving the show on fire (M.673), The Show on fire (M.674), The Owl in the clouds (M.676), 'The Owl' very ill in bed (M.704) and F. R. Leyland (M.721). JW removed some: Study for 'The Blue Girl: Portrait of Miss Elinor Leyland' (M.717), Caricature of F. R. Leyland (M.720) and Sketch of 'Harmony in Grey and Green: Miss Cicely Alexander' (M.845). Some are missing and may have been destroyed, including Mrs Leyland: A recollection (M.546), Sketch of 'Harmony in Yellow and Gold: The Gold Girl - Connie Gilchrist' (M.711).

6.  85
These three lines were written by various hands.

7.  Bring a copy of 'Paddon Papers
This postscript, written on the flap of the envelope, refers to Whistler, James McNeill, Correspondence. Paddon Papers. The Owl and the Cabinet, London, [1882], which was printed by Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].