The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Howell, Charles Augustus
Record 21 of 397

System Number: 02825
Date: 7 January [1869][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Charles Augustus Howell[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 11/19
Document Type: ALS

62. Great Russell St.
opposite British Museum.

Thursday night Jany 7.

Dear Howell

There is a bill[3] of mine that is to be presented for me to pay day after tomorrow - Saturday - do you think you can stump up? - Do if you can like a good fellow -

You know I am down here now having taken Murch's[4] Studio while he is away - When you are up this way come in and [p. 2] smoke a cigarette-

Ever Yours

J A McN. Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  7 January [1869]
Dated from almanac and reference to studio (see below).

2.  Charles Augustus Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more].

3.  bill
Not located.

4.  Murch's
Arthur Murch (fl. 1850-1877, d. before 1891), artist [more]. He shared a studio with Frederick Jameson (1839-1916), architect and musician [more], from c. 1866-1868. According to Jameson, JW shared the studio for a while when Murch was obliged to leave London for health reasons, probably 'after October 1868' (see Merrill, Linda, The Peacock Room. A Cultural Biography, New Haven and London, 1998, p. 97 and p. 360, n. 71). Murch and this letter are referred to by Donato Esposito in 'Dalziels' Bible Gallery [1881]: Assyria and Biblical Illustration in Nineteenth-century Britain', in Steven W. Holloway (ed.), Orientalism, Assyriology and the Bible, Sheffield, 2006, pp. 289-93.