UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Document associated with: Moran, Benjamin
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 11712
Date: 11 October 1862
Author: Bayard Taylor[1]
Place: St Petersburg
Recipient: Benjamin Moran[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscripts Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 3/34/1
Document Type: TLc[3]


U.S. Legation
St. Petersburg

Oct. 11, 1862

My dear Moran:

In introducing to you Mr. Geo. W. Whistler[4], I introduce my loss to your gain. He goes to spend the winter in London, and I endorse him as one of the comparatively few men who are not content to take life according to the prescribed pattern, but mould it according to their individual will and capacity for enjoyment. He can tell you all about my position, its hopes and uncertainties - all about this big empire and its people - with many other things which you may like to hear. In return, help him to the best way of seeing London life in all its aspects (and many of them are very pleasant!) and you will oblige

Yours faithfully,

Bayard Taylor


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Bayard Taylor
James Bayard Taylor (1825-1878), printer, journalist, dramatist and poet [more].

2.  TLc
The original letter was given to Dennis Robinson Alward of Auburn, NY, assistant secretary of the legation, and by him to William C. Bamburgh of Newtonville, MA, who presumably gave this copy to E. R. and J. Pennell. The location of the original is not known.

3.  Benjamin Moran
Although the copyist described this as written to 'Peter Moran' it was written to Benjamin Moran (1820-1886), secretary to the U. S. Legation in London from 1857-1875 [more]. He was Assistant Secretary at the United States Embassy in London from 1857 to 1864 and Secretary from 1864 to 1874, serving five different Ministers to Great Britain. See Sarah A. Wallace and Frances E. Gillespie (eds), The Journal of Benjamin Moran, 1857-1865, University of Chicago Press, 1948-9 (2 vols). The original journal, covering the period 1857-1874, in forty-one volumes, is in the Library of Congress.

4.  Geo. W. Whistler
George William Whistler (1822-1869), engineer, JW's half-brother [more]; see JW's reference to George's visit to London in #11977. He seems to have delayed his departure as JW expected him in September.