UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: LaFarge, John
Record 1 of 8

System Number: 11655
Date: [14 June 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 250
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS


110. Rue du Bac. Paris

My dear Nellie -

You may both fancy that I have been having rather a bad time myself or we would have written to you long ago. All this business with the Dumaurier[3] has been going on - and other bothers too -

What troubles me is that you seem to have got a wrong notion about the worth of the [p. 2] etchings[4] - There are three sold - but the sums are very small ones - You see they are not rare - and the Fine Arts Society sell them all - for a few pounds a piece - I thought you had in any case better have the money however little - for I can always give you lithographs or by & bye when I do others, etchings of Paris to take their place on the walls - Kennedy[5] comes tomorrow and perhaps may give me the cheque - which of course I shall send to you at once - What I am hoping for is that the "Studio" picture[6] may sell - Duret[7] has had it for some time - and he thinks he can sell it - I shall ask [left margin, p. 1] Kennedy to go[8] and see it - If any Americans were to come they might buy it. Indeed it is sure to go - but everything has been against us - The weather among other things. It is horrid - rain rain rain! -

I wrote to the Beefsteak Club[9] about Dumaurier before I wrote to the Pall Mall[10]! But they told me that he has resigned - otherwise it would have gone hard with him!

Aleco[11] turned up the other day - & ought to be able to tell you about the Dumaurier affair -

Tell us about Willie's lecture - I am sure it went off all right - I sent you a patient, Mr La Farge[12] - he ought to be all right - The celebrated artist from New York -

Love to both.

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Call Number: Glasgow University Library, MS Whistler W724
To/
Mrs William Whistler
17 Wimpole Street -
Cavendish Square -
London
Angleterre /
[stamp:] POST REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE / 25
[postmark:] PARIS 80 / R. DU BAC / 2 14 / JUIN / 94
[postmark on verso:] LONDON W / T 7 / JU 15 / 94
6 6
2 3
4 3

 3    3
     6½
     6½

4 10½[13]


Notes:

1.  [14 June 1894]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more]

3.  Dumaurier
George Louis Palmella Busson Du Maurier (1834-1896), author and caricaturist [more]. JW had objected to Du Maurier's novel of Bohemian life, Trilby, in which the character 'Jo Sibley' appeared to be a caricature of JW: Du Maurier, George, 'Trilby,' Harper's New Monthly Magazine, serialised, begun 1 January 1894; reprinted (expunged) as Trilby: A Novel, New York, 1894; regular ed., London and New York, 1895,

4.  etchings
JW's brother was hard-up and was selling some of JW's etchings.

5.  Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

6.  Studio picture
Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63).

7.  Duret
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

8.  Kennedy to go
The remainder of this paragraph is written in the left margin of p. 1, at right angles to the main text. 'I wrote ... hard with him' is added diagonally at the top of p. 1.

9.  Beefsteak Club
JW wrote to the Beefsteak Club, King William Street, Strand, London, on 7 May 1894 (#00268).

10.  Pall Mall
Pall Mall Gazette (#09362).

11.  Aleco
Alexander ('Aleco') Ionides (1840-1898), businessman [more]. 'Aleco ... affair-' is written in the right margin of p. 1; 'Tell us ... ought' in the left margin of p. 2, at right angles to the main text; and the rest upside down to the main text at the top of p. 2.

12.  Mr La Farge
John LaFarge or La Farge (1835-1910), painter and multi-media artist [more].

13.  4 10½
Various calculations are written in ink on the verso of the envelope.