The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Vielé-Griffin, Francis
Record 17 of 65

System Number: 11619
Date: [3/10 April 1895?][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 166
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS

110. Rue du Bac - Paris

My dear Willie -

I sent you some days ago, "Le Journal[3]", with an Interview of myself, that I thought pretty good - How did you like it? -

I fancy that it made it all clear as cristal [sic]! Don't you think so? -

Also I sent "L'Independance Belge" with the letter of M. M. Francis Vielé-Griffin and Octave Mirbeau[4] printed in full. This was their comment upon Mr George Moore's[5] indecent hysterics in the Daily Chronicle - How do you like that? -

[p. 2] The letter is perfect - isn't it? - And the ending terrible - "disqualifié pour apprécier les devoirs de gens d'honneur[6]" - !!! That settles Mr. Moore over here forever. -

Who have you shown it to? -

What other news have you? - I have had several letters from Sis[7] who has been greatly interested in the papers and cuttings I have sent her -

Of course at present I am very hard at work and trying to make up for all the time I got behind -

The papers in America - what I see of them - seem as usual to be pretty bad - They re an ungracious lot - and disgusting -

[p. 3] The trial[8] I believe will come on for appeal - but perhaps not yet awhile -

Trixie[9] sends her love, and seems better here than in London.

How are you now? - I was so glad that the Brighton trip did you good - By the way how did you ever come off with the scoundrel who fell down the area? - Did Webb[10] manage that all right? -

Write us a line and tell us whether you got the papers -

With love to all -
Always affectionately


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [3/10 April 1895?]
This letter clearly follows the publication of the procès-verbal against George Moore, published in Le Journal, 24 March 1895 (see below).

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

3.  Le Journal
24 March 1895.

4.  Octave Mirbeau
The letter from Francis Vielé-Griffin (1863/1864-1937), poet [more], and Octave Mirbeau (1848-1917), novelist, art critic and amateur painter [more], to G. Moore (15 March 1895, #04081), originally published in L'Indépendance Belge, was reprinted in English in The Times, 9 April 1895.

5.  George Moore's
George Moore (1852-1933), novelist and art critic [more]. 'A Picture and a Challenge. The Strange Story of Mr. Whistler and Mr. Moore', Daily Chronicle, 29 March 1895.

6.  gens d'honneur
'disqualifié ... d'honneur', Fr., disqualified from appreciating the manners of honourable men.

7.  Sis
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

8.  trial
The Eden v. Whistler trial: JW won on appeal his dispute with Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more], over possession of Brown and Gold: Portrait of Lady Eden (YMSM 408).

9.  Trixie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. She was suffering from cancer.

10.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].