The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Greaves, Elizabeth
Record 7 of 8

System Number: 11453
Date: [May 1879?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Elizabeth Greaves[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 9/649/02
Document Type: TLc[3]

Dear Mrs. Greaves -

You know how woefully humiliated I must have been all this time so that we will not say any more of the grief of the "Pride[4]" at his ridiculous strait? Only believe still in his affection for you all and accept his kindest regards and give his love to the great "Tinnie[5]".

Ever sincerely Yours,

J. A. McN. Whistler

[Butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [May 1879?]
JW's references to being 'humiliated' and his 'ridiculous strait' suggest that the letter dates from the time of his bankruptcy in May 1879.

2.  Elizabeth Greaves
The recipient was almost certainly Elizabeth Greaves (1810-1900), née Greenaway, wife of C. W. Greaves [more].

3.  TLc
The original has not been traced.

4.  Pride
JW lived from February 1868 until June 1878 at 2 Lindsey Row (96 Cheyne Walk) a few doors from the Greaves at 103 and 104 Cheyne Walk. He told Alice ('Tinnie') Fay Greaves (b. 1852), model [more], 'You are the pride of one end of the Row and I am the pride of the other.' (Marchant, Wm. and Co., A Reply to an Attack Made by One of Whistler's Biographers on a Pupil of Whistler, Mr. Walter Greaves and his Work, London, 1911, preface, repr., exh. cat., London, Goupil, 1922, p. 10; see also M. 420).

5.  Tinnie
Alice ('Tinnie') Fay Greaves (b. 1852), model [more].