UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Canfield, Richard Albert
Record 6 of 77

System Number: 10497
Date: [July/September 1901][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: [unidentified institution][2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler C26b
Document Type: ALdI


Gentlemen -

I [illegible] [received that?] beg to enclose copy of a letter just sent me by my written to my solicitors, by one proposing to represent yourselves - I am convinced that a firm of your standing could do no other than resent the villanous insolent tone adopted by your servants -

I may only add that The monstrous negligence of your employees is which necessitated a lawyers letter at all, instead of being followed by proper regrets and explanation is as you see made the occasion for this [outburst of coarse?] [illegible] elaborate willfull [sic] offensiveness begining [sic] in the jaunty rudeness of address to the Messrs. Webb[3] - and continuing with impertinences to your customer -

When I tell you that "the person" [p. 2] so wilfully elaborately referred to in the letter was one of the ladies of my family[4] who had ventured into the London shop in Tottenham Ct. Road, I think I need add nothing save my belief that you will thank me for bringing to your notice the conduct of [two illegible words] that you cannot but deprecate - both as annoying to distinguishing clients and as injurious to yourselves -

[two deleted lines, illegible]
I shall be pleased to hear that[5] I have been right in referring this matter to your courtesy - I enclose my card & am Gentlemen

Very faithfully yrs

JW

P. S. Statement that the things were to be sent for is desperate and improper.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [July/September 1901]
Written on the same sheet as a draft reply to a letter from R. Canfield to JW, 20 July 1901, #00524. This draft appears on the upper right and left hand quarters of the sheet of paper. Also on this sheet is JW to R. A. Canfield, #00525.

2.  [unidentified institution]
Evidently some kind of shop on Tottenham Court Road, London.

3.  Messrs. Webb
George Webb (b. ca 1835), of G. and W. Webb. lawyer [more]; and William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

4.  one of the ladies of my family
That is, one of the Birnie Philip family, probably Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

5.  I shall be pleased to hear that
These words, in pencil, were copied over by JW in ink as follows.