UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Upton and Britton
Record 13 of 17

System Number: 03462
Date: 12 February 1890
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Edward Upton[1]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 7/106
Document Type: MsLc[2]


(Copy.)

Dear Sir -

I shall be very pleased to make any appointment with you - and come to some arrangement.

Indeed, if you remember, I was not without evincing my willingness to meet you from the beginning - and, if I may remind you, made an attempt or two, before leaving town, to do so[.] Of this I venture to remind you, only because of the suggested tone of reproach in your note

Would it be possible for you to call here? - I recollect that you very kindly proposed to do so when you first wrote - and if it would not give you too much trouble, it would greatly assist me in my present preoccupation, the result of my long absence abroad and the necessity of completing the work brought back

If this be agreable [sic] to you, will you come on Saturday morning at 11.30. or 12 o'clock? - or will you appoint some other morning? -

Friday by the way I could manage if you prefer, and will wire to me tomorrow.

Beleive [sic] me dear Sir
Very faithfully Yours

J. McN. Whistler

Tower House
Tite St Chelsea -

Wednesday Feb 12 1890


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Edward Upton
Edward Upton (b. ca 1855), partner in Upton and Britton, Solicitors [more]. This is a reply to #05903.

2.  MsLc
Copied in an unknown hand, possibly that of William Bell, JW's secretary [more] (see #03463, #03464).