The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: World, The (London)
Record 11 of 168

System Number: 02800
Date: [22 October 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Charles Augustus Howell[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 11/88/2-89/2
Document Type: ALS[3]

[pen drawing, 'The Owl' very ill in bed][4]

So sorry! - Do hope it will be all right tomorrow -

If well enough do look in -
Shall be at home until five - but do come earlier
Afterwards dress at 6.30 or 7. at the doctors[5]
Dine at 7.30 at Dr Birds[6] opposite -

Show's pretty hot[7]! -

Great lark in this week's World[8]!! -

[butterfly signature]

'22. Oct. 1878.'

This document is protected by copyright.


C. A. Howell Esq -
Chaldon House.


1.  [22 October 1878]
Date written by C. A. Howell at foot of letter.

2.  Charles Augustus Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more].

3.  ALS
The letter was stuck in the first of two albums of documents by C. A. Howell (see #02788). The envelope was sent by hand.

4.  [pen drawing, 'The Owl' very ill in bed]
'The Owl' very ill in bed (M.704). Howell wrote underneath the sheet: 'Myself - "The Owl" - Very ill in bed, with swollen face - CA.H.'

5.  doctors
Probably William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

6.  Dr. Birds
Dr George Bird (1817-ca 1899), physician [more].

7.  Show's pretty hot
JW meant either his artistic or financial affairs were active.

8.  this week's World
Not identified.