The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Exhibition of Pastels, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1888
Record 7 of 8

System Number: 08010
Date: [28 October 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: Tours
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/44/5
Document Type: ALS

Sunday evening

I received the money all right from the Bank this evening, and was rather disappointed at not getting a letter from you as well - for I want the name and title of Cadogan[3] I asked for -

but I suppose you had scarcely time to do more than you managed - and managed I think very well -

So I shall not get over to Sir Coutts'[4] dinner - but hope not to be long now away - [p. 2] though of this you must say nothing except to Roussel[5] - \ Did you go to the Private View of the Pastels[6]? - You can tell me all about it -

I hope Roussel 'Roussel'[7] will be at the dinner, and he might write me a descriptive letter -

Tell him that he may expect me in a few days, and mean while he might use his own judgement with the R B A's[8] -

My absence as far as Suffolk Street has been all to that good - had I been in London I had intended to keep away from there - feeling that if left utterly to themselves they were much more likely to break up their party, which, had I been present might have held together in common opposition to myself -

J McN Whistler

What is William[9] doing? -

Had you not better look in upon Mr Buck[10]? -

You never told me by the way the upshot of your visit to McLean[11] (Haymarket) where you were going to be so very brilliant and diplomatic? -

Perhaps it was not a complete success? - ? -

Also you have never told me of the arrival of the Sheffield chafing dish from Wells[12]? -

This document is protected by copyright.


Chs J. Hanson Esq.
9. Selwood Terrace
Queens Elm
Fulham Road
[postmark:] CHATEAUROUX A TOURS / 28 / OCT / 88
[postmark on verso:] LONDON SW / K D / OC 29 / 88


1.  [28 October 1888]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Cadogan
George Henry Cadogan (1840-1915), 5th Earl of Cadogan, politician and diplomat [more]. JW had asked for details of his posting (#10526).

4.  Sir Coutts'
Sir Coutts Lindsay (1824-1913), Bart., co-founder of the Grosvenor Gallery [more].

5.  Roussel
Theodore Roussel (1847-1926), painter and print-maker [more].

6.  Private View of the Pastels
In 1888 JW wanted Louis Huth to lend The Bridge; flesh colour and brown (M.759)and Fishing Boats (M.819) to Exhibition of Pastels, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1888 (cat. nos. 4, 84-5, 88-9).

7.  'Roussel'
Added in an unknown hand, possibly Hanson's.

8.  R B A's
JW had resigned as President of the Royal Society of British Artists but Roussel kept him informed (see #12787).

9.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

10.  Mr Buck
J. H. Buck, employee of the Goupil Gallery, London.

11.  McLean
Probably Thomas M. McLean (b. ca 1832), print dealer and publisher [more].

12.  Wells
Possibly a silversmith or dealer since JW and BW were collecting Georgian silver, much of which is now in the Hunterian Art Gallery. William Henry Wells was at 55 Piccadilly, and John Wells at 222 Oxford Street.