The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Exposition Internationale de Peinture et de Sculpture, Galerie Georges Petit, Paris, 1887
Record 6 of 23

System Number: 10891
Date: [26 April 1887][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Henry Studdy Theobald[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 15/1653/1
Document Type: TLc

Dear Sir -

I was greatly disappointed at being prevented yesterday coming to you in the morning as I had hoped to do.

This trying weather had given me a cold and I was suffering acute pain from a sort of neuralgia in the face that made it impossible for me to reach you - indeed could I have done so, I should have been quite unable to talk about anything at all! -

However what I want, is this - I am sending some pictures and drawings of mine to a very swell exhibition in Paris[3] - and I am most anxious to borrow from you some 14 or 15 of the little things of mine[4] you have on the staircase and in your dining room, that I may exhibit them at the same time -

If you will kindly consent to this, do me the further favour of sending me tomorrow morning, directly after reading this note, a telegram simply saying yes and I will come during the day and take them away myself in a cab -

The reason for this abruptness (which I beg you to excuse) is that they are greatly pressing me in Paris, and I want the pictures to get off if possible tomorrow -

I shall be so pleased if you help me in the matter - and I beg you to accept my thanks before hand - -

Very faithfully yours

J. McN Whistler.

(p. 2) Of course I will leave a written list of the little pictures I take away -

Please wire to me:
"The Vale",
King's Road - Chelsea.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [26 April 1887]
Dated from a transcribed postmark, which is given at the top of page one as 'April 26th '87'. The original letter (and envelope) has not been located.

2.  Henry Studdy Theobald
Henry Studdy Theobald (1847-1934), barrister and collector [more].

3.  TLc
A few minor corrections have been made to this typescript letter copy in another hand, and have been incorporated into this transcription.

4.  exhibition in Paris
Exposition Internationale de Peinture et de Sculpture, Galerie Georges Petit, Paris, 1887.

5.  14 or 15 of the little things of mine
Theobald owned at least 22 works by JW, including Old Battersea Bridge (M.482), The Beggars - Winter (M.727) and Grand Canal, Amsterdam; Nocturne (M.944), (see M.381, 482, 567, 568, 590, 727, 782, 884, 886, 887, 888, 890, 897, 898, 900, 905, 906, 925, 928, 944, 945, 946). Of these, he certainly lent Erith - Evening (M.884) and Pink note - The Novelette (M.900) to the show in Paris - possibly many more, since JW changed the titles.