The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Exhibition of Pastels, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1888
Record 6 of 8

System Number: 08016
Date: [25 October 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: Tours
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/44/10
Document Type: ALS


I don't at all see why there was no letter from you today - for though in my note to you[4], which you acknowledged on Sunday night I had told you to write no more until further orders, you must since have had the one enclosing cheque for Marler & Bennet[5] in which I said I should still be here for awhile and I told you to acknowledge cheque and answer several write of several matters -

There must now be cuttings - send them - and in short go on as before, writing to me here, Hotel de la Promenade -

By the way, what is the wit of such monstrous mystery and [p. 2] importance as is now always suggested by the word "Confidential" or Private or whatever it may be upon your envelope! -

Also I wish you would not go about fancying that you are pumping and [overeaching?] everyone you meet as if I thought them all fools and knew you to be most portentously wise! -

What could have possessed you to let Mr Brown[6] see that I had sent you to make him commit himself! -

Now - still I have a mind to trust you with a slight mission to Morley of the Pall Mall[7] -

Take a copy of the enclosed paragraphs - down to the Pall Mall office and ask to see Mr Morley - If you cannot see him call again - and finally when you do see him say that you thought he might like to have a couple of paragraphs [p. 3] in the way of real copy about Mr Whistler - but that Mr Morley would kindly consider the matter as quite and then show him the paragraphs and say that if Mr Morley liked to put them in as they are, you could assure him that I would not be displeased that he should have them - and the facts stated about the etchings etc have not been communicated to any other paper -

I am sure that if you are very nice and not too woefully important and mysterious you can make no blunder and Mr Morley will willingly enough put the paragraphs in the Pall Mall -

Had Menpes[8] any pastels in the Grosvenor? 'none'[9]

What other works are there? Also do mine look brilliant in the new frames? 'absolutely'



[p. 4] Upon reflection, I only send one paragraph - the other was to the effect but you had better all right

I enclose bill from Vigo Street - Call and say that I never received the buckle and was greatly disappointed -

Now has the man sent it since we have been away? -

In any case call and say we are absent -

Are there no cuttings? -

[p. 5] =
Mr. Whistler, we hear, has in his journeyings in sunny France, not been idle - He brings back with him some forty new etchings of the finest quality - Those who have seen them in Paris, say that the elegancies of French Renaiscance [sic] have never been so exquisitely rendered as in these fairy like plates, and the world of connaisseurs [sic] and collectors look forward to the printing of these latest proofs of the Master's delicacy, with anxious expectation -

We are told that the Ex-President is now accompanied by a new familiar in the shape of a most knowing and wicked magpie, who sits on his shoulder, as he etches, and doubtless imparts many mischievous thoughts in its native French tongue

This document is protected by copyright.


Chs. J. Hanson. Esq
9. Selwood Terrace -
Queens Elm -
Fulham Road -
London -
[postmark:] CHATEAUROUX A TOURS / [illegible] / 25 / [OCT] / [88]
[postmarks x 5 on verso, 2 legible:] TOURS / [illegible] / 25 / OCT 88 / INDRE ET LOIRE [and] LONDON SW / S E / OC 26 / 88

Cheque tomorrow[10]. native tongue instead of native French

1 -11[¼?]


1.  [25 October 1888]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Whistler
Written in another hand.

4.  my note to you
It is not clear which letter JW means, though he had certainly already told Hanson not to write until he received a new address (#07997).

5.  Marler & Bennet
Auctioneers, estate agents, and collectors of JW's rent. JW had mentioned sending a cheque (19 October 1888, #10526).

6.  Mr Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

7.  Morley of the Pall Mall
Charles Morley (1853-1916), journalist at the Pall Mall Gazette [more].

8.  Menpes
Mortimer Luddington Menpes (1860-1938), artist [more].

9.  'none'
'none'' and 'absolutely' were added by Hanson.

10.  Cheque tomorrow
There follow various pencil jottings and calculations in JW's hand.