The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: [Exhibition of the work of J. McN. Whistler], College for Working Men and Women, London, 1889
Record 6 of 7

System Number: 08130
Date: [5 June 1889][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William Christian Symons[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection PWC 2/62/1
Document Type: ALS


My dear Symons -

Forgive my not writing before - I have been driven to death with endless matters -

We are going up tomorrow to see the pictures[4] and meanwhile I have been sending out the circulars -

I hope you will come down and [p. 2] see us[5] before you go out of town -

You have been charming in all this matter of the dinner[6], and I still marvel at the kind and endless trouble you took -

Always sincerely Yrs

[butterfly signature]

Tower House
Tite Street. Chelsea -

This document is protected by copyright.


£4- 10. 0[7]

W. Christian Symons. Esq.
55. Park Road.
Haverstock Hill -
N. W.
[postmark:] [LONDON S. W. / JU 5 / 89 ?]
[postmark on verso:] [LONDON N. W. / O A / JU 5 / 89 ?]


1.  [5 June 1889]
Dated from postmark.

2.  William Christian Symons
William Christian Symons (1845-1911), painter and designer [more].

3.  'Whistler'
Written in another hand, at top right.

4.  pictures
Possibly [Exhibition of the work of J. McN. Whistler], College for Working Men and Women, London, 1889.

5.  us
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

6.  dinner
A dinner, to congratulate JW on being made an Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Munich, was held at the Criterion in Piccadilly on 1 May 1889. It was organised by W. C. Symons.

7.  £4- 10. 0
Written, possibly by JW, or by another hand, in the top left corner, this is clearly nothing to do with the letter.