The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Exhibition of Pastels, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1888
Record 5 of 8

System Number: 08014
Date: [c. 10/13 October 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: Loches
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/44/12
Document Type: ALS

Hotel de la Promenade -
Loches. Indre et Loire. France

My dear Charlie -

I have all your letters - but none from Mr Roussel[3] - Tell him to write to me and to give the letter to you - for you may say that I have left Tours here after going on Monday as I want him to do, to the General Meeting[4] - He must tell me all about both meetings - Now I don't want the people to know that I am here. I also don't want their attention to be drawn to my long stay in any one place, so you might say that I had been travelling about making visits in the neighbourhood of Paris & Bordeaux. Write me one exact list of what Pastels you took to the Grosvenor and who you had them from - Also where they are finally hung and how they look - Give my kindest regards to Deschamps[5] and say that I depend upon his making a beautiful group of them in a fine place on the real silk - that is in the large room - also that I have complete confidence in him and so am without anxiety -

Go to Aspreye[6] [sic] at once and ask him has he sent the 7. pound (price) tea basket I telegraphed for - Probably however I shall send the telegram through you - In any case go down and see about it. I want the same travelling tea [p. 2] basket he once sent down to Tite Street for me to look at - (7. pounds[7])

William[8] only sent the oil[9] mixtures, I wanted the watercolor ones too -

Buy the Atlantic Monthly[10] referred to in enclosed cutting and post it -

Call on Mr Hurlbert[11] and ask him from me if he has any news of any kind that he thinks might delight me to hear - Give him my kindest remembrances -

Enclosed cheque -

Write, acknowledge safe arrival - also remember you keep account of all that has been surplus in the one or two cheques lately -


J. McN. Whistler

Call on the Doctor[12] and give them the new address -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [c. 10/13 October 1888]
Dated from reference to forthcoming General Meeting on 15 October 1888 (see note below).

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Mr Roussel
Theodore Roussel (1847-1926), painter and print-maker [more].

4.  General Meeting
A reference to the Royal Society of British Artists of which JW was still nominally President, although he had resigned on 4 June. A Special General Meeting of the Society took place on Monday, 15 October 1888. See Minutes of the Council of the RBA, #13402.

5.  Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

6.  Aspreye
C. & G. E. Asprey, luggage manufacturers, engravers and cutlers of 166 New Bond Street.

7.  7. pounds
Double underlined.

8.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

9.  oil
Double underlined.

10.  Atlantic Monthly
An American periodical founded in 1857. The cutting is missing.

11.  Mr Hurlbert
William Henry Hurlbert (1827-1895), journalist and author, editor-in-chief of the New York World from 1876-1883 [more].

12.  Doctor
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].