The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 2nd Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1878
Record 5 of 20

System Number: 00586
Date: 29 March 1878
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Alfred Chapman[1]
Place: [Liverpool?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler C87
Document Type: ALS

[butterfly signature]

Dear Jack -

You are a brick! Also many thanks for sending up the Nocturne[2] so instantly - and hurrah for the com[m]ission[3] you are going to give me! - Now look here - if it is to amount to over ten pounds, do send me up a tenner at once in a registered letter so that I may have it on Monday morning - [p. 2] as that will be a Godsend litterally [sic] - and you have my promise before hand to devote myself to all that you wish -

People here are simply in rags! and I have built my house[4] among 'em! -

Ever Yours with kindest regards -

J A McN. Whistler

96. Cheyne Walk Chelsea -

29th of March 1878 -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  James Alfred Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].

2.  Nocturne
Chapman must have lent Nocturne: Grey and Gold - Chelsea Snow (YMSM 174) to the 2nd Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1878 as 'Nocturne in Grey and Gold'.

3.  com[m]ission
The sum mentioned (£10) could have bought several etchings or been a down-payment on a painting, but there is no record of Chapman acquiring anything further from JW.

4.  house
JW moved into the White House in Tite Street about June 1878. It was designed for him by Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more], but the mounting building expenses contributed to JW's bankruptcy.