The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 2nd Exhibition, Pictures, Drawings, Prints and Sculptures, International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers, London, 1899
Record 48 of 54

System Number: 09797
Date: [5 August 1899][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[2]
Place: London
Repository: New York Public Library
Call Number: E. G. Kennedy II/132
Credit Line: Edward Guthrie Kennedy Papers / Manuscripts and Archives Division / The New York Public Library / Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations
Document Type: ALS

I dont know my dear OK what to say! - Of course it would be mad to have you over here a wreck! "Kennedy" sick - sick and "furieux" at the same time!! That would never do! - And yet it is ridiculous that you should spend a horrible 'Olliday over there when you might be here, doing one credit in beautiful raiment which I hear has been remarked in Pall Mall!! -

You must think it out - or come without thinking! - If you wire address as I explained -

Now what do you mean by asking what exhibition I allude to? - Did you not beg that I would write the winning words that should induce Studd[3] to lend you his picture? - and was not all this [p. 2] for the Whistler Exhibition you told me you intend to produce? -

Of course I will do all you wish of which you have spoken to Lauser[4]. I hope still to go to Holland - but hang on here for a few days longer in order to be more completely ready - It is very hot here - and I am getting rather fidgetty - I have a desire to run over! -

All right my dear OK about the £200 and very nice of you, as always -

I told Messrs. Ward[5] to send you proof photogravure of "The "Little Lady Sophie of Soho[6]," and of the Trouville[7] sea piece - They are very pretty and I thought you might wish to hang them up over there -

The American papers[8] all (more or less) shameful and unpardonably dull - Might all have been written and sent over from the taverns in Covent Garden -

You will get this tonight - In case you come, indeed in any case, wire me from Charing Cross the first thing tomorrow morning - If you write it out tonight, Miss Hentzman[9] will have it sent by Hall porter by 8 o'clock -

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


'Aug. '99?'

O. K. Kennedy Esq
Garlants Hotel.
Suffolk Street -
Pall Mall
[postmark:] LONDON / [AU?] 5 / 99


1.  [5 August 1899]
This is a reply to Kennedy's letter of 4 August 1899, #07317. It has been dated from the postmark, the date written in another hand on the envelope, and the reference to the Bank holiday, which fell on Monday 7 August in 1899. Curiously, no Paris postmark is visible on the envelope.

2.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more]. JW called him O'K.

3.  Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more].

4.  Lauser
Gustave Lauser (b. ca 1841), London print-seller [more].

5.  Messrs. Ward

6.  Little Lady Sophie of Soho
Rose and Gold: The Little Lady Sophie of Soho (YMSM 504).

7.  Trouville
Blue and Silver: Trouville (YMSM 66) and Rose and Gold: The Little Lady Sophie of Soho (YMSM 504) were exhibited in the 2nd Exhibition, Pictures, Drawings, Prints and Sculptures, International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers, London, 1899, and were reproduced in the catalogue.

8.  American papers
JW was disappointed by the reviews of Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: The Baronet and the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, Paris and New York, 1899 [GM, A.24].

9.  Miss Hentzman
Miss A. Hensman, an employee at Garlant's Hotel [more].