The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 63rd Annual Exhibition, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, Philadelphia, 1893-1894
Record 4 of 7

System Number: 06622
Date: [22/30 February 1894?][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W616
Document Type: ALS

My dear Nellie,

I expect "The Forge"[4] will fetch a lot - but so much the better. I am afraid the chairs, too, are hardly worth while, as they have such gorgeous covers - they will of course fetch more. We will go to the £15, although we cant afford it!! If you like any of the tables very much[5] - we would [p. 2] like to have one and the rug - if that is very pretty - Jimmie likes the kind with no pile or very little and the pattern in black - but if you like it it will be sure to be all right - Those tables I think fetch at Christies something like £7 or £8 ... but - if we get ["]The Forge" then thats all we can do. I dont think it would be much good - sending Mr [p. 3] Hanson[6], the Clerk would be safer -

Jimmie is going to write, I believe to Potter[7] and Mrs. Rev I always forget her name, Julia Whistler[8]. It was perfectly idiotic everyone says to have put it in Christies!

Have you seen Mrs. Haden[9] lately? Your cousin's wife must be feeling very blue, I should think!! but they will get all right [p. 4] again some day - I suppose. They say things are beginning to get better - Did Jimmie tell you he has got the gold medal in Philadelphia for Lady Archies picture[10] - She wrote the other day, and sent me a photograph of herself on a Tobaggan in a he sort of Orlando[11] costume - long boots - &c. she is surrounded by snow - and has to be looked at upside down! When we have a little more money will you go to Howards[12] for us? How is Willie[13]? What is the row with the Dr. at the hospital?

I dread rows[14] - more than ever - but Jimmie hasn't bothered about people so much lately. There is a lot of painting but I must not talk - perhaps he will have a relapse!!

Your afft


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [22/30 February 1894?]
Dated from the reference to the Temple Gold Medal, of which JW was notified in a letter dated 16 February 1894, to which he replied on 4 March (see #02691). It is possible that the envelope postmarked 22 February 1894, #06725, goes with this letter.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  The Forge
Possibly an impression of The Forge (K.68). See also #06729.

5.  very much
Double underlined.

6.  Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

7.  Potter
John Gerald Potter (1829-1908), wallpaper manufacturer and patron [more]. He had recently sold Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52).

8.  Julia Whistler
Julia de Kay Revillon (1855-1930), née Whistler, JW's niece [more]. She sold Harmony in Green and Rose: The Music Room (YMSM 34) at auction, Christie's, London, 10 February 1894 (lot 69). It was bought by 'Collin' or 'Collard' (possibly meaning Colnaghi's) for £199.10.0.

9.  Mrs. Haden
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

10.  picture
Arrangement in Black: La Dame au brodequin jaune - Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 242) had been awarded the Temple Gold Medal in the 63rd Annual Exhibition, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, Philadelphia, 1893-1894. It was bought for the Wilstach Collection in 1894, the first work by JW bought for an American public collection.

11.  Orlando
JW had painted Lady Archie as Note in Green and Brown: Orlando at Coombe (YMSM 317).

12.  Howards
Possibly Howard and Sons, upholsterers and decorators at 25-27 Berners Street, Oxford Street

13.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

14.  I dread rows
'I dread ... Trix.' is written at the top of p. 1.