The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895
Record 38 of 84

System Number: 05828
Date: [18 November 1895][1]
Author: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Lyme Regis]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T173
Document Type: ALS

[royal coat of arms]


Nov. 1895.

Dear Mr Whistler

Many thanks for your two letters[3] duly to hand which will receive every attention.

Portfolios. I think it was the usual half-dozen we were to hold at your disposal & the one we are now placing aside for West Point[4] makes three you have had. You have had [p. 2] one yourself & one for Mr Webb[5]. Besides of course there were about a dozen for the press. There are therefore 3 copies still at your disposal.

Being a moment when you are thinking of this Portfolio we send you a statement of how it stands exactly to date. There was that Oscar Wilde[6] drawing against you & it is not yet quite wiped off, but of course that is all right.

The West Point people will have a very perfect set - the best we can do & no doubt you will sign them when you come.

[p. 3] The Frames are all practically ready & can be put at your disposal at any time.

Lithographs - Many thanks. I will speak to Mr Brown[7]. Mr Wedmore[8] will not write the article on your exhibition - of course not after what you said.

Sarasate[9]. I will see to this for the Music people & the size of the plate & write further. For the picture itself my hands are not very free with this Prange[10] arrangement & yet he has been very good about it. I want to send a photo of the picture to America but the negative [p. 4] cannot be found by Webb.

Has there been any new verdict in the Eden[11] business. I have seen none.

The Exhibition[12] next month at the F. A. S. will be interesting. But the March Exhibition[13] will beat every thing ever seen & in every way we shall score!!

Somewhat hurriedly,
Yours vy truly

D. C. Thomson.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [18 November 1895]
This is a reply to JW's letter of 17 November 1895, #08386 and #08389.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  two letters
#08386 and #08389.

4.  West Point
JW wished a portfolio of photographs of his paintings to be sent to the United States Military Academy.

5.  Mr Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

6.  Oscar Wilde
Oscar Fingal O'Flahertie Wilde (1854-1900), writer, critic and playwright [more].

7.  Mr Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

8.  Mr Wedmore
Frederick Wedmore (1844-1921), art critic [more].

9.  Sarasate
Arrangement in Black: Portrait of Señor Pablo de Sarasate (YMSM 315).

10.  Prange
Francis Gerard Prange (b. ca 1843), London art dealer [more].

11.  Eden
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more].

12.  Exhibition
Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895.

13.  March Exhibition
The proposed exhibition of recent work was abandoned.