The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 99th Exhibition of the Royal Academy of Arts, Royal Academy, London, 1867
Record 3 of 12

System Number: 09171
Date: 17 January [1866][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Millie Jones[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Prof. Toshiyuki Takamiya
Document Type: ALS

7. Lindsey Row. -

My dear Miss Jones -

You will very greatly oblige me if you can come here and sit again for a few days - I am to go out of town[3] next week and the picture[4] is wanted at once - Pray come tomorrow morning under any circumstances, so that even should you be engaged we might make some arrangement -


J A Whistler

Wednesday. Jany. 17.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  17 January [1866]
According to an almanack, 17 January was a Wednesday in 1866.

2.  Millie Jones
Emelie ('Milly') Eyre Jones (b. ca 1851), model, later wife of F. H. Robson [more]. She was one of the models for Symphony in White, No. 3 (YMSM 61) and possibly for Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63).

3.  out of town
JW was about to leave for Valparaiso, Chile.

4.  picture
JW was probably asking Millie Jones to pose for Symphony in White, No. 3 (YMSM 61). According to his mother, as early as November 1865 JW was putting what were intended as the finishing touches to the painting, and hoped to sell it to Louis Huth (1821-1905), collector [more] (see her letter to JW, 25 November 1865, #06526). It was signed and dated '1865' at that time. However, JW continued to rework it until it was exhibited at the Royal Academy in 1867, with '1865' changed to '1867'.