The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894
Record 3 of 19

System Number: 03364
Date: [12/26 January 1894][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 117
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[4]

110 Rue du Bac.

Dear Mr Way,

Will you, Mr Whistler says - print him, he thinks - 12. each of the lithographs which are in the Grafton Gallery[5] - He quite agrees with you that it is better to have a larger [p. 2] quantity printed - Will you let me know if you want some more paper, and if so how many sheets -

With kind regards from us both to yourself and your father[6].
Believe me
Very sincerely

Beatrix Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [12/26 January 1894]
This presumably dates from before the closure of Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894, and before Way's letter on 28 January, 1894, #06111.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

4.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 91, no. 79.

5.  Grafton
Nude Model, Reclining (C.73), The Draped Figure, Seated (C.72), The Dancing Girl (C.29), Vitré: The Canal (C.63), The Steps, Luxembourg (C.68) and possibly Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69) were shown during the exhibition Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894; see #03360.

6.  father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].