The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Tentoonstelling van Kunstwerken van Levende Meesters, Amsterdam, 1889
Record 3 of 18

System Number: 07103
Date: 12 August 1889
Author: Elbert J. van Wisselingh[1]
Place: The Hague
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1092
Document Type: ALS


12th August '89

Dear Mr Whistler,

I thank you very much for your kind letter and I am very glad to hear that you are coming so soon. I hope your visit will lead to something since you would be willing to paint a portrait[2] here.

On receipt of your telegram about sending the "Fur Jacket"[3] [p. 2] to Amsterdam I have wired to the Committee[4] but I have no reply as yet. I shall wire as soon as I get word.

Hoping to hear soon that you will be here on such or such a day when I hope to have the pleasure of meeting you and Mrs Whistler[5] at the Station,

I remain, with kind regards
yours sincerely

E. J. van Wisselingh

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Elbert J. van Wisselingh
Elbert Jan Van Wisselingh (b. ca 1848), art dealer [more].

2.  portrait
The question of painting the mother of Willem Reinhard Boelens (b. 1840), Baron van Lynden, banker and collector [more], had been raised in a previous letter (#07102). It never came to pass.

3.  Fur Jacket
Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181).

4.  Committee
The painting was shown at Tentoonstelling van Kunstwerken van Levende Meesters, Amsterdam, 1889.

5.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].