The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 'Notes' - 'Harmonies' - 'Nocturnes', H. Wunderlich and Co., New York, 1889
Record 28 of 32

System Number: 01986
Date: [23/30 November 1889][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H87
Document Type: ALS

Mr Hanson -

I received your note this morning - all right - only the Pall Malls[3] I told you of last time never came -

[tick][4] 1. Enclosed you will find cheque from Wünderlich[5] for £23. 12. 6. Pay it in to my account at once -

[tick] 2. Tell Sickert[6] that I am quite willing that you should sign the list he wishes - so he had better give you one, as of course I have lost the one they sent - You would properly sign C Hanson pro. J McN Whistler -

[tick] 3. Write to Mr Anderson Rose[7], in reply to enclosed, the usual letter to lawyers - a propos of my absence -

[tick] 4. Go to Goupils[8], and say to Mr Thomson[9] that in due course you have opened and answered the letter from Mr Rose, and ask what it is all about, and why they take this sort of step - Say that I am absent - etc. etc.

5.[10] Write by tomorrows post and tell me when is the day that ends [p. 2] our lease in the Tower House[11] - I mean of course, what is the actual day we must go out? You had better rush off to the lawyer[12] directly you read this and ask -

J McN. Whistler

'J. A McN. Whistler'[13]

'20 -'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [23/30 November 1889]
Dated by reference to sale (see below).

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Pall Malls
Probably the Pall Mall Gazette.

4.  [tick]
The ticks on the page are added in pencil.

5.  Wünderlich
The sale of a watercolour at this price (Green and White - Dieppe (M.1038), which had been in 'Notes' - 'Harmonies' - 'Nocturnes', H. Wunderlich and Co., New York, 1889), was noted in a letter from G. Dieterlen of Wunderlich and Co., New York, 1 November 1889, #07187.

6.  Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more].

7.  Mr. Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

8.  Goupils
Art dealers in London.

9.  Mr. Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

10.  5.
Double underlined.

11.  Tower House
JW's studio and apartment, in a block designed by Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more]; he moved to 21 Cheyne Walk in February 1890.

12.  lawyer
Not identified.

13.  'J. A McN. Whistler'
Written in another hand, in pencil.