The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895
Record 23 of 84

System Number: 01307
Date: 10 November 1895
Author: JW
Place: Lyme Regis
Recipient: Marcus Bourne Huish[1]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F239
Document Type: ALS

My dear Mr. Huish -

One thing of importance while I think of it -

Let the invitation card be engraved by your man - and then give the plate to the only man in London who can do the Butterfly beautifully -

Give him my draught so that he can see the place for it and the little diagonal line, and it will be perfect - He is the man at Mr. Dickers[2], Vigo Street - (the Old Silver shop) who has done the Butterfly scores of times on all my silver - and there is just the difference between the spirit with which he does it and any stupid attempt of one who has not the habit - and it may as well be perfect - Besides as he engraves on the silver he can engrave perfectly on the copper - What he does is delightful -

Now, I have sent for the whole of my stock of lithographs from [p. 2] Paris - (About this I talked with Mr. Brown[3] -) and it will come to you direct, by grande Vitesse - You ought to have it in the beginning of the week -

I enclose letter from young Way[4] - I think it would be simple for Mr Brown to look over with him as he proposes and it all can then be satisfactorily arranged -

Mr. Brown carried off the price list - promising to send me back copy - this has not come -

I enclose draught of agreement - with a couple of notes - I send it to you direct, to save time - instead of sending it to Mr Webb[5] - (Messrs G. & W. Webb. 11. Austin Friars. E. C.) my lawyers - Mr William Webb you might settle with - if there you think I am wrong about the trade - and about the years sole right of sale - These two points occur to me - & that is all - & I am willing to sign directly those are cleared up -

I cannot see why the trade should have 25% at any time -

They have nothing to do with the Exhibition - and they are accustomed to 15% from me - or Well talk it over with Mr William Webb -

The other point of the 25% to yourselves, I am sure, you will agree with me, you would not propose should continue to be extended to the Society for the year during which you were to have the sole right of sale!! I give you a clea[r] month over the close of the Exhibition, which I think is ample and nice - It could only have been an oversight on your part in drawing up agreement -

This must go now for the Post -

Very Sincerely

J McN. Whistler

Royal Lion - Lyme Regis

Nov. 10. 1895.

Paragraph will be all right - by tomorrows post -

Had such a lot to do -

And you thought I should have no trouble! - Why I feel that I am In it all again in spite of everything[6]! -

[continued on p. 1] Enclosed also rough list of proofs for Exhibition - See Tom Way Jnr[7]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Marcus Bourne Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more]. This letter relates to preparations for Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895, which opened on 7 December.

2.  Mr. Dickers
Robert Dicker (ca 1827-1900), silversmith [more].

3.  Mr. Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

4.  letter from young Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more]. The letter is untraced.

5.  Mr Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

6.  everything
'again ... everything' is written at right-angles to the main text in the right-hand margin.

7.  Tom Way Jnr
'Enclosed ... Tom Way Jnr' is written at right-angles to the main text in the left-hand margin.