The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 4th [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894
Record 21 of 35

System Number: 03169
Date: [27 June 1894][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: Arthur Haythorne Studd[3]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/128
Document Type: MsLc[4]

110 Rue du Bac

My dear Peter -

We were delighted to get your letter[5]! - of course - it is all right about Brittany - but we shant be able to get away yet, for there is Miss Kinsella[6], but when we do we will go laden with the various necessary articles.

Do be quick and come back - How I envy you the house with the staircase! Some day we shall have to go back there! If there is ever anything going very cheap you must let us know!

Do send me the address of Mrs Morgan's[7] sister-in-law, Mrs Carter[8], I want to call, but they have no address on their cards!

The conspirators[9] are well. We find them conspiring in all the corners of the house and garden!! They make me feel very out of it!!!

I suppose you are going to be very beautiful in your new house. I really think when you come to Paris you must come and stay with us - and when we come to London we will stay with you - be sure and ask us.

The redboy[10] is here - and is behaving very well, his complexion, however, I think, is too beautiful, it makes me feel quite envious!

With affectionate regards from us all.
Always sincerely

Beatrix Whistler

Please give your kindest remembrances to your sister & brother.

This document is protected by copyright.


Arthur Studd Esq.
2. Hyde Park Gardens.
[postmark:] [June. 27. 1894]


1.  [27 June 1894]
The date is probably taken from a postmark, as recorded by the copyist.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Arthur Haythorne Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more]. Studd had been known as 'Peter' since his art student days.

4.  MsLc
Copied by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

5.  your letter

6.  Miss Kinsella
Louise Kinsella (d. 1923), patron of JW [more].

7.  Mrs Morgan's
Mrs Morgan, neighbour of JW at 110 rue du Bac.

8.  Mrs Carter

9.  The conspirators
Perhaps JW and Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more], and Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more], in July 1895. The subject may have been JW's dispute with Harper and Bros. over Du Maurier, George, 'Trilby,' Harper's New Monthly Magazine, serialised, begun 1 January 1894; reprinted (expunged) as Trilby: A Novel, New York, 1894; regular ed., London and New York, 1895; see #06187.

10.  redboy
Possibly Eugénie, JW's servant in Paris. Beatrix's satisfaction with his behaviour was short-lived as later on he seems to have stolen some of her silver and a diamond stud from the house. See B. Whistler to A. H. Studd, #03174.