The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Mr Whistler's Etchings, The Fine Art Society, London, 1883
Record 17 of 54

System Number: 10967
Date: [11/15 February 1883][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Elizabeth Lewis[2]
Place: London
Repository: Bodleian Library, University of Oxford
Call Number: Department of Western Manuscripts, MS Dep. c. 838, fols 110-11
Document Type: ALS

Dear Mrs Lewis -

I am so very sorry! - but this week I am a perfect slave to my work and dare not permit myself any such delight - . The fact is I have promised the Fine Arts Society to be ready with my etchings for a private View[3] on Saturday next and many of my plates are not yet proved - so that from early morning until late at night I must be at my press - I hope you will come and [p. 2] see the result on Saturday - and also that you will ask me again soon -

With kindest regards to yourself and the great "Mister George[4]"

Very sincerely yours

J A M'N. Whistler

28 Wimpole Street[5]

If I can get away I shall look in later in the evening on Friday

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs George Lewis -
88. Portland Place -


1.  [11/15 February 1883]
Dated from reference to etchings exhibition at the Fine Art Society (see note below). The envelope was sent by hand and has no stamp or postmark.

2.  Elizabeth Lewis
Elisabeth Lewis (1844-1931), née Eberstadt, wife of G. H. Lewis [more].

3.  private View
Mr Whistler's Etchings, The Fine Art Society, London, 1883 opened on 17 February.

4.  George
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

5.  28 Wimpole Street
The address of William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].