The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Exposition Internationale de Peinture et de Sculpture, Galerie Georges Petit, Paris, 1887
Record 14 of 23

System Number: 09133
Date: [June 1887?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: William Andrews Clark Memorial Library, University of California, Los Angeles, CA
Call Number: Wilde W576L U58 [18]
Document Type: ALS

I shall probably return in the middle of the week - but you will hear -

Now by tomorrow's post you must send me the letter that was written to Mons. Bailly[3], President of the Exposition - and that was returned because of insufficient postage - Send the letter & the envelope -

My address is
"Hotel du Tibre"
Rue du Helder. No. 8.

Put simply Monsieur Whistler - on the envelope - enclose after Mrs. Godwin[4] has seen them whatever she may give you of the letters that have [p. 2] come -

Tell John[5] that I was surprised and greatly vexed to find that he had put up no shirts for me - excepting the 3 white ones - so that I am without any coloured ones - and I had especially told him to pack a couple with the small dots, black & pink -

I had a tolerable journey - but there were crowds of people on board and I went to six hotels this morning, without finding a room -

Paris is splendid -

Tell Roussel[6] that he must work hard also he must write to me -


[butterfly signature]

'I feel sad[7], Mr [illegible] wants me to [illegible] them, & on the river today [illegible] hard to say that I had such a crowd of work [as?] there [three or four illegible words]'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [June 1887?]
The reference to Mrs Godwin, with no mention of E. W. Godwin, suggests that this letter dates from after the latter's death in 1886. The reference to an exhibition suggests a date of ca June 1887 (see below).

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Mons. Bailly
Bailly, an exhibition organiser. The exhibition may be Exposition Internationale de Peinture et de Sculpture, Galerie Georges Petit, Paris, 1887.

4.  Mrs Godwin
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. She was increasingly involved in JW's business affairs during the year before their marriage.

5.  John
John Cossins, JW's valet [more].

6.  Roussel
Theodore Roussel (1847-1926), painter and print-maker [more].

7.  I feel sad
It is likely that this note, written in the right margin, does not actually belong to this letter. It may be a personal note, written by Hanson, or belong to the other letter written on the same sheet of paper (see #09134).