The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 3rd Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1879
Record 14 of 18

System Number: 07899
Date: 19 August [1879][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Alfred Chapman[2]
Place: [Liverpool]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/15/2
Document Type: ALS

Dear Jack -

I am going to send you tomorrow your Nocturne in Grey & Gold[3] - with ever so many thanks for it's loan -

The Grosvenor[4] is over and the little picture returns to the walls where it is more cared for -

Do you know I think of running off to the Continong! [sic] the Continong! - and the White House[5] [p. 2] is for the time played out -

If I go to Venice would you like to go in for a Nocturne of the Gondola kind? -

Meanwhile I suppose you would not want to buy any etchings? -

Always, with kindest regards to Mrs. Chapman and Miss Emmie[6]

J A McN. Whistler

[butterfly signature]

Aug. 19th.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  19 August [1879]
Dated from a reference to the Grosvenor Gallery (see below).

2.  Alfred Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].

3.  Nocturne in Grey & Gold
Nocturne: Blue and Gold - Southampton Water (YMSM 117).

4.  Grosvenor
3rd Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1879. Nocturne in Grey & Gold was exhibited under the title 'Nocturne in Blue and Gold' (cat. no. 116).

5.  White House
JW's house and studio, the White House in Tite Street, designed by Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more], where he had lived since June 1878 until after his bankruptcy in May 1879. He left for Venice before the sale of the White House on 18 September.

6.  Mrs. Chapman and Miss Emmie
Mrs Alfred Chapman, wife of the collector [more], and another relative of Chapman.