The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 'Notes' - 'Harmonies' - 'Nocturnes', H. Wunderlich and Co., New York, 1889
Record 13 of 32

System Number: 07166
Date: 30 September 1888
Author: Hermann Wunderlich[1]
Place: New York
Recipient: JW
Place: [Tours][2]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1154
Document Type: ALS

[scroll:] H. WUNDERLICH & CO.
H W & CO.
868 B'WAY N- Y-

September 30th 1888

Dear Mr Whistler:

I have just received your favor from Tours and regret extremely that you were prevented from getting the drawings ready on time and that we have to forego the pleasure of seeing you here this season. It would be a great disappointment to our american amateurs, not to have the exhibition[3], (for which a great deal of interest has already been manifested,) take place at all, and it would be the cause for a good deal of unpleasant comment, but if I can tell people that the exhibition is only postponed for a month or two, everybody will be content to wait and there will be [p. 2] no lack of enthusiasm and of success on account of the delay, but please do not put it of [sic] any later than the end of December and give me as many of the sketches of your present travels as you can.

In my last letter I sent an order for some etchings, which Mr Hanson[4] supplied only partially, will you kindly send the balance of your my order on your return and add one each of any new plates you may have etched since I saw you in London, also send 3 proofs of the Dyer[5] if you have printed the plate again -

Hoping to be favored with further news, I wish you a very pleasant journey and remain

Yours very truly

Hermann Wunderlich

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Hermann Wunderlich
Hermann Wunderlich (ca 1839 - d.1892), print dealer [more].

2.  [Tours]
JW was in France on a working honeymoon, after his marriage to Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more] on 11 August. Apart from a brief spell in London in mid September, the Whistlers remained there until about early November.

3.  exhibition
An exhibition of JW's watercolours and pastels was planned for Wunderlich's Gallery to open in October 1888. Wunderlich's proposals for the exhibition are set out in a letter to JW dated 29 August, #07164. In the end the exhibition was postponed until the following spring ('Notes' - 'Harmonies' - 'Nocturnes', H. Wunderlich and Co., New York, 1889).

4.  Mr Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more]. See Hanson's correspondence with Wunderlich (#03498), and etchings list (#13053).

5.  Dyer
The Dyer (K.219).