The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 4th [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894
Record 12 of 35

System Number: 03168
Date: [25 April 1894][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: Arthur Haythorne Studd[3]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/217/2
Document Type: MsWc[4]

110 Rue du Bac.

My dear Mr. Studd.

We hear you are back, but did not see you yesterday at the Champs de Mars[5] - but we saw your picture[6] which we all liked and wished we could have told you so. Will you come to dinner next Friday at eight o'clock? We have asked Mr Frazer and Cushing & Mrs Morgan[7]. We do hope you will be able to.

Sincerely yours.

Beatrix Whistler

Monsieur Arthur Studd.
Passage Alfred Stevens.
Boulevard de Clichy.

This document is protected by copyright.


[postmark:] 'April 25. 1894'


1.  25 April 1894
Dated by postmark as recorded by copyist.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Arthur Haythorne Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more].

4.  MsWc
Telegram copied by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

5.  Champs de Mars
4th Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894. JW exhibited works including Green and Violet: Portrait of Mrs Walter Sickert (YMSM 338) and Arrangement in Black and Gold: Comte Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac (YMSM 398).

6.  your picture

7.  Mr Frazer and Cushing & Mrs Morgan
K. Frazer; Howard Gardiner Cushing (1869-1916), painter [more], and Mrs Morgan, neighbour of JW at 110 rue du Bac. There is a list of possible guests for a dinner (including these names) written on the verso of a letter from H. W. Bromhead to JW, #05805. The other names included Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more], and Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more], and Baronne Alice or Alix d'Anethan (1848-1921), artist [more].