The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 2nd [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1892
Record 11 of 41

System Number: 08342
Date: [11 April 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 3
Document Type: ALS[3]

33. Rue de Tournon - Paris


Dear Sir,

Your letter - received - excellent -

My letters - Of course too late for morning delivery - hoped still you might have had them during the day -

Exhibition[4]. It became of late quite clear to me that the Goupil House, here, had no understanding whatever of this matter - And that it consequently could not have been carried out here in the superbly successful way that alone could reward the effort I should again be called upon to make - In short I should have missed you as Aide de Camp - and without your rapid appreciation and great power for immediate action - your rare sense of the refinement of treatment brought to bear upon the smallest detail, which gave you the implicit faith without which I could [p. 2] never have accomplished anything - far less the splendid triumph, of which you say will long be remembered in Bond Street - without all this then - I felt that it were hopeless as an undertaking -

Catalogues. I dont think I would let the people suppose that there were no more just yet - Of course you are the best judge - I should have thought perhaps another 250 - but will take your advice - Have you no orders from America? - or elsewhere? -

Portraits - Have written to the Duke of M.[5] - to say that all details of price etc etc are managed for me by you. I mean you Personally - not the Goupils - but Mr. Thomson - He will therefore doubtless write to you - Will you not undertake this for me in this case privately? - The other commissions coming through the house [p. 3] are another matter -

I must again run off to the post.

Pictures for Salon Champs de Mars - See yesterdays letter -

Mr Matterson[6] Sea piece - Yes - Send in new frame - glass & all -

Lady Meux[7] also with glass -

Yrs truly,

J. Mc.N.Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


D. C. Thomson. Esq.
The Goupil Gallery
116, 117. New Bond Street -
London -
Angleterre -
[postmarks x 3:] PARIS-6 R. DE VAUGIRARD / E11 12 / AVRIL / 92
[postmark on verso:] LONDON / B A / AP 13 / 92 [postmark on verso:] LONDON E C / A / AP 15 92 / A A


1.  [11 April 1892]
'Monday' was 11 April; the postmark indicates the letter was posted the following day. There is a copy of this letter at #05720.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'AP. 13. 1892' was written in pencil at the top right corner of p. 1, and '4' in the top left corner; '000' was added on the envelope, and '4', in unknown hands.

4.  Exhibition
JW had hoped an exhibition in Paris might follow the successful London show, Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892.

5.  Duke of M.
George Charles Spencer-Churchill (1844-1892), 8th Duke of Marlborough [more]. He wished to commission JW to paint himself and his wife.

6.  Mr Matterson
JW meant William Taylor Malleson (b. ca 1830), wine merchant and collector [more], who had bought Symphony in Grey and Green: The Ocean (YMSM 72).

7.  Lady Meux
Harmony in Pink and Grey: Portrait of Lady Meux (YMSM 229); both were shown in the 2nd Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1892.