The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Winter Exhibition, Royal Society of British Artists, London, 1887-1888
Record 10 of 30

System Number: 02206
Date: 23 November [1887][1]
Author: Katherine P. Hurlbert[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H302
Document Type: ALS

S. W.

Dear Mr. Whistler

I really am quite over come with your most beautiful present! Any thing so exquisite I never before possessed for my very own, & I shall leave it at my decease, to my little great niece[3], who after making your acquaintance the other day, said to me, on my taking her up stairs to her nurse, "I love dat man" - Mr. Hurlbert[4] [p. 2] is almost as much delighted as I am, at your most beautiful etchings[5], in their new setting, & we both promise ourselves the pleasure of being present on Friday night[6].

Thanking you again & from the core of my heart for your delightful gift

I am most truly Yours

Katherine P. Hurlbert

Nov 23

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  23 November [1887]
Dated from reference to etchings (see below).

2.  Katherine P. Hurlbert
Katherine P. Hurlbert (m. 1884), née Tracy, wife of W. H. Hurlbert [more].

3.  great niece
Not identified.

4.  Mr. Hurlbert
William Henry Hurlbert (1827-1895), journalist and author, editor-in-chief of the New York World from 1876-1883 [more].

5.  etchings
JW gave her a specially bound album of the 'Naval Review set', 1887 (K. 316-331) (excat 7).

6.  Friday night
The Private View of Winter Exhibition, Royal Society of British Artists, London, 1887-1888.