The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 5th Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1881
Record 3 of 7

System Number: 09634
Date: [4 February/May 1881][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Théodore Duret[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
Call Number: W57/W576
Document Type: ALS

Mon cher Duret -

Vous êtes si bon - venez demain me voir un instant si vous le pouvez, dans la galerie[3], Bond Street, où je dois me rendre à mes devoirs, demain vers les 2 heures.

Je prendrai rendez vous pour le dimanche et nous pourrons causer -

Je vous serre la main d'amitié

J A McN. Whistler

28 Wimpole Street
Vendredi soir.

This document is protected by copyright.


My dear Duret -

You are so good - come and see me tomorrow for a moment if you can, in the gallery, Bond Street, where I must be working, tomorrow about 2 o'clock.

I shall make an appointment for Sunday and we shall be able to talk -

I shake your hand in friendship

J A McN. Whistler

28 Wimpole Street
Friday evening.


1.  [4 February/May 1881]
Dated from mourning border (JW's mother, Anna M. Whistler, died on 31 January 1881), reference to exhibition (see below), and address; the first Friday in February was the 4th. JW leased a flat and studio at 13 Tite Street on 22 March 1881 but stayed on with his brother William at 28 Wimpole Street for two months until the premises were ready.

2.  Théodore Duret
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

3.  galerie
Probably the Fine Art Society Gallery, where JW's exhibition, Venice Pastels, The Fine Art Society, London, 1881, opened at the end of January. However, another possibility is the Grosvenor Gallery, 135-36 New Bond Street, where JW showed Harmony in Grey and Green: Miss Cicely Alexander (YMSM 129) in 5th Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1881.