The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 5th Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1881
Record 2 of 7

System Number: 09276
Date: [4 February/March 1881?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Théodore Duret[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
Call Number: 192 W57/W57
Document Type: ALS

Mais mon cher Duret vous n'avez donc pas reçu le petit mot[3] que je vous ai écrit hier au Soir?

J'ai pourtant bien mis l'adresse - Bury Street -

Je voulais justement vous dire quelque chose à propos de ces dessins[4] - et je vous priais de passer si vous aviez un moment a perdre par içi[5] où je suis retenu prisonier par mon frère -

Peutêtre demain il me laissera sortir pour [p. 2] aller un instant à la Gallerie[6] - vers les trois heures - vous y verrai-je? ou passeriez vous ici vers midi?

Bonsoir mon cher Duret

J A McN. Whistler

[butterfly signature]

28. Wimpole Street -

This document is protected by copyright.


But my dear Duret did you not receive the note I sent you yesterday evening?

I put the correct address - Bury Street -

I just wanted to tell you something about the drawings - and I asked if you would call in here if you had a moment to spare where I am imprisoned by my brother -

Perhaps tomorrow he will let me to out to [p. 2] go to the Gallery for a moment - at about three o'clock - shall I see you there? Or would you come here at about midday?

Good evening my dear Duret

J A McN. Whistler

[butterfly signature]

28 Wimpole Street


1.  [4 February/March 1881?]
This letter dates from shortly after another letter from JW to Duret, #07878.

2.  Théodore Duret
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

3.  petit mot
Possibly JW to T. Duret, #07878.

4.  dessins
Unidentified. Duret had written to JW regarding the drawings, #00984.

5.  ici
JW was living temporarily at 28 Wimpole Street, the address of William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], prior to moving into 13 Tite Street in May. He seems to have been ill at the time (see also reference to illness in JW to T. Duret, #07878).

6.  Gallerie
Probably Venice Pastels, The Fine Art Society, London, 1881; however, at a later date, he could have been rweferring to 5th Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1881, where Duret would have seen Harmony in Grey and Green: Miss Cicely Alexander (YMSM 129).