The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1889
Record 14 of 62

System Number: 09270
Date: [1/2 March 1889?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Theodore Child[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Baltimore Museum of Art, MD
Call Number: George A. Lucas Collection Archives, Letters - James McNeill Whistler to Theodore Child no. 5
Document Type: ALS

Dear Mr Child -

Forgive me if it be at all possible - and let me tell you now at once how really delighted I am with the proof of Miss Corder[3]! -

It is simply charming - Do say so from me with my most sincere thanks & compliments to Monsieur[4] - for the life of me I cannot at this moment remember his name! - dont tell him that! -

The Balcony[5] is also beautiful - I fancy [p. 2] it ought to come back at once - I mean the painting of course - in order that I may borrow it again - .

I do wish I could further consult with you about the Exhibition[6] - They are asking me here to send in on the English Section - What do you think? -

Also will they enforce the rule of no paintings later than 78? - Or does it only mean pictures that were exhibited in the last International as you at first thought?

Perhaps on the American side they would be less strict? -

I was greatly amused at Theoc's[7] [sic] criticism of Mr Stott's[8] exposition at Durand Ruels[9] - and am induced to send you the enclosed[10] -

Who knows? perhaps a slight reference to it might one of these days not be amiss! -

I notice that he is without his "Oldham" at present! - I suppose I must have kicked it off[11]!! -


[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1/2 March 1889?]
Child's reply to this letter is dated 3 March 1889 (#00621).

2.  Theodore Child
Theodore Child (1846-1892), journalist and art critic [more].

3.  Miss Corder
Arrangement in Brown and Black: Portrait of Miss Rosa Corder (YMSM 203).

4.  Monsieur
Fréderic Florian (b. 1858), alias 'Rognon', wood engraver [more].

5.  Balcony
Variations in Flesh Colour and Green: The Balcony (YMSM 56).

6.  Exhibition
Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1889. Child had also written giving JW advice on the exposition on 12 June 1888 (#00614).

7.  Theoc's
Presumably he means Child.

8.  Mr. Stott's
William Stott of Oldham (1857-1900), genre and landscape painter [more].

9.  Durand Ruels
Paul Durand-Ruel (1828 or 1831-1922), Paris art dealer, or one of his sons, Joseph (1862-1928), Charles (1865-1892) or Georges (1866-1931).

10.  the enclosed
The enclosure is missing.

11.  kicked it off
A reference to a quarrel JW had with Stott in the Hogarth Club in January 1889, when JW slapped and kicked Stott; see #02142.