The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Exhibition of Pastels, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1888
Record 3 of 8

System Number: 08810
Date: [September 1888?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [France]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS

If you look again at your letters from me you will see that you have forgotten to tell me any thing about Mr Jas Forbes[3], also Mr Louis Huth[4] - also the [Catherin?] lease -

Of course I dont suppose you have had time to attend to all this - but I mean dont forget them - Especially are the two first important, as I doubt not the visit from Mr Le patourel[5] would be about the Pastel Exhibition -

Dont leave me with [sic] a report of [p. 2] some kind each day.

Yesterday I had no letters at all! How was that -

Webb[6] had better do the repairs, according to the marked items, all the same - as otherwise the neglected appearance may prevent the Vale[7] letting at all - so let him set about the work at once -

Don't tell the Dowdeswells[8] my address - say that I am just travelling about the Continent for amusement - and may be back at any moment - meanwhile you can forward any message - or letters - Why dont you send me the World[9]?

You had better send me the 2 or 3 back numbers -

I will send[10] another cheque directly. -

J McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [September 1888?]
Dated from references to travels on the continent and exhibition (see note below). #08118 appears to relate to this letter.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Mr Jas Forbes
James Staats Forbes (1823-1904), railway manager and collector [more].

4.  Mr Louis Huth
Louis Huth (1821-1905), collector [more].

5.  Mr Le patourel
A. F. or A. J. Le Patourel, painter, acting secretary of the SBA [more]. The 'Pastel Exhibition' is probably a reference to the Exhibition of Pastels, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1888. It opened in October 1888.

6.  Webb
Webb, possibly George or William Webb, lawyers.

7.  Vale
A reference to No. 2, The Vale, off the King's Road, known as the 'Pink Palace' where JW lived from 1881 to c. May 1888.

8.  Dowdeswells
C. W. or one of his sons, Charles and Walter Dowdeswell, of Dowdeswell and Dowdeswell, art dealers, art dealers and printsellers. JW was in France on a working honeymoon, after his marriage to Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], on 11 August. The Whistlers remained there until about early November although around mid September he returned to London for a brief spell. See JW to H. Whistler, #06713.

9.  World
London society paper.

10.  I will send ... Whistler
Written at right-angles in margin.