UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 'Notes' - 'Harmonies' - 'Nocturnes', Second Series, Messrs Dowdeswell, London, 1886
Record 37 of 54

System Number: 08642
Date: [1/15 May 1886][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Charles William Dowdeswell[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Rare Books and Manuscripts Division
Document Type: MsLS[3]


Dear Mr Dowdeswell .

I dont know the pictures[4] by these numbers - but I fancy one is "Holland" & another "Hoxton" two of the best: I think your customer[5] most impudent[.] What is the third? Please [p. 2] send word back by William[6] and then I will wire -

If because of pressure I let the pictures go - I beg you will tell your man - that he can go to H-ll[7] for a mean skunk! - Who no doubt knows devilish well the advantage he takes of the occasion -

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [1/15 May 1886?
Dated from references to pictures (see below).

2.  MsLS
Most of the letter is written in the hand of Mary Maud Franklin (1857- ca 1941), JW's model and mistress [more].

3.  Charles William Dowdeswell
Charles William Dowdeswell (1832-1915), art dealer [more].

4.  pictures
Watercolours from JW's solo exhibition, 'Notes' - 'Harmonies' - 'Nocturnes', Second Series, Messrs Dowdeswell, London, 1886. The first may have been either Blue and silver - Holland (M.980) (cat. no. 14) or Brown and gold - Holland (M.979) (cat. no. 38). The second was probably Red and brown - Hoxton (M.1004) (cat. no. 60).

5.  your customer
Unidentified.

6.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

7.  H-ll
Written in JW's hand from this point forward.