The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894
Record 9 of 19

System Number: 08288
Date: [21 January 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS[3]

110. Rue du Bac - Paris.

Sunday -

Dear Mr. Thomson -

I am very greatly obliged to you for attending so promptly to the mounting & framing of the lithographs[4]. How did they seem to you to look when complete in the new toilettes?

When does the Grafton[5] open? You will see there the two sea pieces[6] that I showed you in their unvarnished and comparatively undressed state in the Studio - I hope you will like them - I do!! -

What news? - Certainly if we go to London we will come and see you - Only I am so busy just now in the studio that the date for our crossing [p. 2] is continually put off! -

Well I must see about something for [you] in the way of the lithograph - but the view out of the studio window is really rather untempting, and even dismal just now - and those last drawings of mine as I told you, I am fraid as Way[7] says would never last, without quite losing all their delicacy, through a printing for the Art Journal[8].

Don't forget to let me know all about the sale at Christie's of the "Music Room[9]" - and in plenty of time before hand - Oh of course we are enchanted with Arry's[10] card! - You must send us some of the notices about his show! - What fun it all is -

[p. 2] I will send you back the terrible bit of blazing not to say bleeding Red[11]!

[p. 1] with kindest regards
Very Sincerely

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [21 January 1894]
Dated by the almanac and the reference to the Grafton show (see below).

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'70B' is written in an unknown hand in red ink at top left; and '124' in pencil at bottom right of p. 1.

4.  lithographs
These were for Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894; see Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 248.

5.  Grafton
The show opened on 19 January 1894.

6.  sea pieces
Violet and Silver: A Deep Sea (YMSM 411), Dark Blue and Silver (YMSM 412) and Violet and Blue: Among the Rollers (YMSM 413).

7.  Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

8.  Art Journal
Thomson was editor of the Art Journal. After protracted negotiations, Nursemaids: 'Les Bonnes du Luxembourg' (C.81) was published in The Art Journal, December 1894, vol. 46, no. 120.

9.  Music Room
Harmony in Green and Rose: The Music Room (YMSM 34), was auctioned, London, Christie, 10 February 1894 (lot 69).

10.  Arry's
Henry ('Arry') Quilter (1851-1907), advocate and art critic [more].

11.  Red
'I will send ... Red!' is written in the left margin of p. 2, and the remainder in the left margin of p.1, at right angles to the main text.