The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895
Record 36 of 84

System Number: 08171
Date: 18 November [1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Lyme Regis
Recipient: Thomas Way[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 3/27/11
Document Type: ALS[3]

Dear Mr Way -

Will you kindly, until I am able to see you myself, either print what more proofs may be required by Mr Huish[4], or allow him or Mr Brown[5] to fill up from what you mayhave by you -

I feared this exhibition[6] would give me trouble in the midst of my many anxieties[7], but I certainly never dreamed of such a complication as a misunderstanding with yourselves.

Very faithfully Yours

J McN Whistler.

Lyme Regis.

Nov. 18.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  18 November [1895]
Dated '1895' in another hand.

2.  Thomas Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

3.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 158.

4.  Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

5.  Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

6.  exhibition
Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895.

7.  anxieties
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], was suffering from cancer.