The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Spring Exhibition, Royal Society of British Artists, London, 1888
Record 3 of 6

System Number: 08007
Date: [14 June 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris][2]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/43/2
Document Type: ALS

I do not remember your telling me that you had got the two tickets I told you to for Mr & Mrs Hurlbert[4] - and whether you had delivered them in Half Moon Street -

In case you failed to do this, go without loss of time to Mr Dowdeswell[5] and ask for the tickets -

Be in Bond Street before half past 9 o'clock - and take the cards, with my compliments, to Mrs Hurlbert and ask if [they] think they will go to the Private View[6] in the afternoon at about 5 -

Also say that I wish to remind them of their promise to come down on Sunday afternoon [p. 2] at about half past four or five o'clock -

Give them the new address - Tower House - and say that I expect them there

Try and see Mr Hurlbert himself -

Then go right back to Tite Street and wait for me - dont go to the Galleries until I have seen you -

J McN Whistler

Upon reflection, you had better come right on to me [at] Wimpole Street[7] from Dowdeswells - so that you will be here by 10 o'clock or before -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [14 June 1888]
W. H. Hurlbert wrote to JW on 15 June 1888, #02232, after a visit from Hanson.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  [Paris]
JW was about to return from Paris (see JW to C. J. W. Hanson, #08006 and #02232).

4.  Mr & Mrs Hurlbert
William Henry Hurlbert (1827-1895), journalist and author, editor-in-chief of the New York World from 1876-1883 [more]; and Katherine P. Hurlbert (m. 1884), née Tracy, wife of W. H. Hurlbert [more].

5.  Mr Dowdeswell
Probably Charles William Dowdeswell (1832-1915), art dealer [more].

6.  Private View
Spring Exhibition, Royal Society of British Artists, London, 1888.

7.  Wimpole Street
Home of William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].