The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Winter Exhibition, Royal Society of British Artists, London, 1887-1888
Record 28 of 30

System Number: 07411
Date: [3 February 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Walter Theodore Watts-Dunton[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1399
Document Type: ALS

454 Fulham Road - Walham Green[3]

'3 Feb 1888'[4]

Theodore -

You must come - also you must bring the bard[5] with you - and then we will all go on to the galleries of the Suffolk Street[6] together -

How badly behaved it was of you not to come last Sunday when you had your card all right from me -

[butterfly signature]

[p. 2] 'Whistler'[7]

This document is protected by copyright.


Theodore Watts. Esq.
The Pines
Putney Hill.
[postmark:] LONDON / S. W. / 9 7 / FE 3 / 88

'T W D[8] letter from Whistler 1888'

[crown motif:] R. B. A.[10]


1.  [3 February 1888]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Walter Theodore Watts-Dunton
Walter Theodore Watts (later Watts-Dunton) (1832-1914), solicitor, novelist and poet [more].

3.  Walham Green
Triple underlined.

4.  '3 Feb 1888'
Added in pencil, in another hand.

5.  the bard
Algernon Charles Swinburne (1837-1909), poet and critic [more].

6.  galleries of Suffolk Street
JW was probably referring to the Winter Exhibition, Royal Society of British Artists, London, 1887-1888. Twenty-one of his works were on display, including etchings of the Jubilee Naval Review, London and Brussels, lithographs, watercolours and oils such as The White Symphony: Three Girls (YMSM 87).

7.  'Whistler'
In pencil, in an unknown hand.

8.  T W D ... 1888
Added in pencil in another hand, and then erased.

9.  '240'
Written in blue pencil.

10.  [crown motif:] R. B. A.
Embossed motif on envelope flap.