The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 2nd Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1878
Record 8 of 20

System Number: 07369
Date: [c. 22/29 May 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Walter Theodore Watts-Dunton[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1357
Document Type: ALS

'circa 1878'[3]

I want you most certainly on Sunday - breakfast in the Show[4] you know - so now don't fail -

You never sent me back the World[5] - and have never been near me! -

Mind you turn up all right on Sunday - and tell me lots of news -

Minto[6] is coming -

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


Theodore Watts Esq.
Ivy Lodge -
Werter Road

reference to Minto
? date
probably 1878,
being Ivy Lodge period'


1.  [c. 22/29 May 1878]
Dated by butterfly signature, address of Watts, and reference to The World (see below).

2.  Walter Theodore Watts-Dunton
Walter Theodore Watts (later Watts-Dunton) (1832-1914), solicitor, novelist and poet [more].

3.  'circa 1878'
In pencil, in another hand.

4.  Show
Possibly II Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, which opened on 1 May 1878.

5.  World
JW probably refers to Whistler, James McNeill, 'The Red Rag,' in 'Celebrities at Home. No. XCII. Mr Whistler at Cheyne-Walk,' The World, 22 May 1878, pp. 4-5 [GM, A.2]; partly reprinted in 'The Red Rag', Whistler, James McNeill, The Gentle Art of Making Enemies, London and New York, 1890, pp. 126-27 (see #13153).

6.  Minto
It is possible this was Colin Minto Campbell (1828-1885), MP [more].

7.  Whistler ... period
Notes written on envelope, in pencil, in an unknown hand.