The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1900
Record 6 of 41

System Number: 07310
Date: 30 June 1899
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1298
Document Type: ALS[2]


June 30 / 99

My dear friend

I got your letter[3] postmarked June 27th and was much surprised at your sudden enthusiasm for the pen, after months of rest.

I cannot, therefore [one or two illegible words][4] however, compare [my] short-comings, misdeameanors or mischief whatever [illegible]

I have not, I am sorry to say, found any Whistler's strange or otherwise, I wish I did. Yes, I was at Butter[p. 2]-fly Co. but no one was in. I shall wait for you now. I am to dine to-night at the Pennells'[5] and they will be glad to hear of your proposed visit to London I am sure.

I got your p. c.[6] this morning. I cannot just now say as to future wanderings, but we can talk it over when you come here. Has G. W. V.[7] gone home, and taken his portrait[8] with him?

Remember, you must take interest in the New York Whistler show & send some thing, or several paintings, say Carmen[9], Whistler's portrait[10] and one of the full length figures. Happy thought, [p. 3] Why not go to Hazlemere and see Whibley[11]? I will talk over places with the Pennells.

Later - Do not fail to notify Garlant's[12] in time, as this is Henley week.

Mr. & Mrs. Pennell will be delighted to see you as you know, as will

Always yours


I write this with a curious[ly b?]ad stylographic pen. Burned this over t[he] lamp by mischance! Excuses!

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

2.  ALS
Areas of the letter have been abraded and, as Kennedy notes, burnt, with loss of text.

3.  your letter
See #09787.

4.  [one or two illegible words]
The missing or supplied words on pages one and three are due to a small portion of the letter having been burned by Kennedy's lamp (see final line of letter).

5.  Pennells'
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926) and his wife Elizabeth Robins Pennell (1855-1936), née Robins, JW's biographers.

6.  p. c.
'postcard'. Not located.

7.  G. W. V.
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more].

8.  portrait
Ivoire et or: Portrait de Madame Vanderbilt (YMSM 515), not then completed.

9.  Carmen
Kennedy had already bought and sold Crimson note: Carmen (YMSM 441); he may have seen Rose et or: La Napolitaine (YMSM 505).

10.  Whistler's portrait
Brown and Gold (YMSM 440), first exhibited at Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1900.

11.  Whibley
Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more].

12.  Garlant's
Mrs Sarah E. Garlant (b. ca 1828), proprietor of Garlant's Hotel [more].