The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Etchings of Venice, The Fine Art Society, London, 1880
Record 5 of 15

System Number: 06693
Date: [November/December 1880][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W687
Document Type: ALS[3]


Dear Nellie -

Emma[4] thinks that you have written to ask if you may bring Susie Sutton[5] and her husband[6] to the Studio tomorrow - and tells me that they are going away the next day -

Well I am very busy[7] - but if they can come in the afternoon at quarter past four, [p. 2] for half past - I can give them about an hour -

Tell them this and say how sorry I am not to see more of them - but lots of things have to be attended to just now - and I am not my own master -

Always -

[butterfly signature]

I have made free with your hospitality and now make you my [excuser?]! -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [November/December 1880]
Dated from address although the tone of this letter suggests that JW may have moved to lodgings at 76 Alderney Street, Pimlico by this time.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
Written at right-angles to printed address.

4.  Emma
Emma, possibly the servant of W. McN. Whistler.

5.  Susie Sutton
Susannah ('Susie') Plumridge Livermore (1855-1938), daughter of K. and A. Livermore, later wife of E. Sutton [more].

6.  her husband
Edmund Sutton (1844-after 1885), barrister [more].

7.  busy
JW had recently returned from Venice and was printing Venice etchings at 65 Regent Street, a premises rented from the Fine Art Society. Etchings of Venice, The Fine Art Society, London, 1880, an exhibition of Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5) opened in December 1880.